PDA

View Full Version : mr.hoot.com tdi tuning boxes


elnigel
08-09-2003, 03:20
hi, i posted on the tuning section asking if anyone has bought a tuning box from mrhoot.com. thought id ask in here. these boxes are £150, it sounds too good to be true. am wanting to know if they are legit and if they are any good. other boxes are about 300 quid

thanks alot!:confused:

Jon TDI
08-09-2003, 08:52
Can't say I've ever heard of these, and to be honest, @ £150 they do sound too good to be true. They're not a mainstream tuner, so I wouldn't be confident in using it.
Just my opinion, anyway.

Jon TDI
08-09-2003, 09:24
Just had a look at the site, & it doesn't look like it uses a signal from the MAF sensor - which is not a good thing.

sssstew
08-09-2003, 11:43
sounds far too dodgy, and the fact that it has 'Dellboys TDI tuning module, in the IE top bar looks well dodgy!

elnigel
08-09-2003, 20:30
just looked at the website again, didnt see the del boy bit! wonder if they deliver the tuning boxes in a beat up reliant robin van!!!!

think i might give it a miss and go for a tdperformance box, heard they were pretty good and not too pricey!:cheers:

aceman
08-09-2003, 22:12
Found this (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2430973449&category=32094) on Ebay going cheap. There are a few others if you do a search too but like the one you mention can you trust them !

sssstew
09-09-2003, 10:55
yeah those diesel tech ones did look tempting, but then i guess you get what you pay for.... hmmmmm