PDA

View Full Version : Whats happening to this site?


djrichard
06-09-2005, 02:59
When I try to view the site by using my favourites menu it tries to get me to download a file. I even tried www.seatcupra.net and it done it again.

I never accepted the thing as I have no idea what it is and Im not downloading any old random file which could potentially infect my pc. Ive had a look around on the site but I cant find any reference to it so Im just posting it up here.

Is this a new thing or is the site hacked?

andyb
06-09-2005, 05:32
dont believe the site is hacked. I've just tried the site on three computers, each using IE and then Firefox, but I could be wrong

Sounds more like you have some sort of virus or trojan?

ZBOYD
06-09-2005, 08:40
Nothing added to the site, as Andy says, check your computer, seems to be something localised. Works fine on the computers here, IE, Firefox and Safari on the mac just for good measure, and the PC next to me, with Firefox and IE, both no problems

Saul
06-09-2005, 09:36
3pc's on IE are fine for me

jedi knight
06-09-2005, 09:49
everything working ok for me here.

mark sheerin
06-09-2005, 09:52
Site is fine but you may have winfixer....
Its a complete bind...not a virus as such but adware/spyware and as far as I can see practically impossible to remove without a full degree in registry manipulation..
I have sought a fix only to find the fix isn't a simple patch or download but requires the use of three seperate pieces of software all needing manually input parameters followed by a manual edit in safe mode all of which if done wrong could render your pc inoperable so now I have pop ups I can't remove even using a pop up blocker because it works offline too..doh!

BlackCupraa
06-09-2005, 10:03
Reformat the Hard drive????

mark sheerin
06-09-2005, 10:09
Reformat the Hard drive????

I could of course
fortunately the winfixer isn't a virus or damaging just an annoyance it even pops up during sessions on secure sites with the popup blocker activated..makes me spit blood when I'm using internet banking and a pop up appears trying to ask me to suscribe to a gambling site...

I am now totally convinced that these adwares etc etc are3 actually written by employees of companies who sell virus killing software who simulataneously develop a virus and its fix at the same time and then get some third party to release the virus before claiming after a short while they have a fix for it.

buy our killer...!!!

djrichard
06-09-2005, 10:31
hmmm very interesting. I wonder why my anti-virus software has not picked it up.

When I clicked on the link that I had created for the site on that post it made this window pop up.

xJib
06-09-2005, 10:38
When you hover over the link, what does it say in the bottom task bar?

Also do you have a popup blocker installed, as all links try and open the links in a new page. If you do, try disabling it then giving it a go.

Mercury
06-09-2005, 10:47
Go to this site http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/index.php? and post your problem in the Cyber Safety forum. Also post a Hijack This (http://www.cybertechhelp.com/download/file/hijack-this) log with it and someone will assign themselves to you as an advisor.

xJib
06-09-2005, 10:51
Me thinks you’ve got something damaged in your regastry?

Try This ( http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q180176/)

djrichard
06-09-2005, 10:58
When you hover over the link, what does it say in the bottom task bar?

Also do you have a popup blocker installed, as all links try and open the links in a new page. If you do, try disabling it then giving it a go.

When I hover over it it says "http://www.seatcupra.net"

I have pop up blockers. I never have a problem with pop ups ever.

Do you think I should download it and then do a virus scan on it, if its safe open it and see what it is?

djrichard
06-09-2005, 10:58
Me thinks you’ve got something damaged in your regastry?

Try This ( http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q180176/)

I cant read what appears to be German!

LNeves
06-09-2005, 11:08
It sometimes happens to me. I try to read a thread or click some menu option and ir prompts me to download some file, mostly "something.php".
I use Firefox and the issue goes away after I close and restart it.

xJib
06-09-2005, 11:11
I cant read what appears to be German!


German :confused: :confused: :confused:

Copy and paste the link below into the address bar

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q180176/

Should take you to the Mirosoft Support.

Johnsy
06-09-2005, 12:33
I am now totally convinced that these adwares etc etc are3
actually written by employees of companies who sell virus killing software who
simulataneously develop a virus and its fix at the same time and then get some
third party to release the virus before claiming after a short while they have a
fix for it.

buy our killer...!!!

Having worked for an anti-virus company, I have to disagree. You'd be amazed at
the amount of viruses / worms / trojans that are created every day by people who
think they have something to prove. Why would a software house pay someone a
salary to write malware when there are spotty little oiks all over the planet
writing them for free?

mark sheerin
06-09-2005, 12:36
Having worked for an anti-virus company, I have to disagree. You'd be amazed at
the amount of viruses / worms / trojans that are created every day by people who
think they have something to prove. Why would a software house pay someone a
salary to write malware when there are spotty little oiks all over the planet
writing them for free?

I'm just being over cynical....

I do everything possible
service pack 2
latest downloads for my virus killing software
avoid dodgy sites or accepting anything suspicious...
etc etc..
and you still get caught...
currently have DYFUCA.A and MONEYTRE.A
both uncleanable or deletable..:(

Crafoo
06-09-2005, 13:13
It's not downloading the file for viewing the page offline is it???

qifop
06-09-2005, 18:29
hmmm very interesting. I wonder why my anti-virus software has not picked it up

Probably because you are using AVG and its notoriously crap. Suggest getting a better AV product even if this isnt a virus.