PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone else been spammed?


Jonny
28-11-2005, 13:33
Sorry mods, don't know if this is the right place to post this...

I've just logged into my Yahoo mail account and found a whole load of rubbish in my "bulk" folder.

In amongst these messages was one from hostmaster@ seatcupra.net, subject "your password" with an attachment called reg_pass.zip

There was another one from webmaster@ westec.uk, subject "Registration Confirmation" with an attachment called reg_pass_data.zip

I have not opened these attachments as I don't think the mail is genuine - for a start I already know my SCN password & I have not registered with Westec.

Anyone else been spammed???

Saul
28-11-2005, 13:35
ive had a lot coming through my btinternet (yahoo) account last week or so

full of viri

unknown as to where its coming from though

flashbsd
28-11-2005, 13:40
run the full header on it, and see which ip is sending it off, then report it :)

Goot
28-11-2005, 13:43
Check your anti virus is bang up to date, but sounds like either one has got through sniffing through your email on PC, or your mailbox on yahoo's system?

We are currently getting hammered at work with viruses, at last count 3k virus email attacks per hour! All getting blocked, but it's causing major delays with external email in and out, but this isn't Yahoo -sorry off slightly off topic!

Goot :)

badlydrawnbanan
28-11-2005, 13:44
ive had loads of these over the last week or so going to my hotmail and work email ..... they all contain viruses so be careful ! not sure where there coming from but I know quite a few people who are recieving them ... someone or something is getting into peoples address books :no:

rhumber
28-11-2005, 13:59
I've got a BT Yahoo account also and have loads of junk in the bulk folder too.

But..... I thought the point of the 'bulk' folder was to filter the spam out of your mails though?

m0rk
28-11-2005, 18:32
It'll *probably* be from someone on SCN who's got the kinda worm that sends as if from the domains in it's inbox.

If someone can pull the Senders IP from it i'll check it against the server logs & x.ref it to the usernames

worked before :) user was too stupid to understand tho

monkeynuts
28-11-2005, 18:54
I've got a BT Yahoo account also and have loads of junk in the bulk folder too.

But..... I thought the point of the 'bulk' folder was to filter the spam out of your mails though?
Yea I have had all these as well the best one was from the C.I.A. they recon i was on 200 dodgy sites trawling for **** :whistle:

mr. Hedgehog
28-11-2005, 18:56
Dunno if this link will work without registration, but what it basically describes is the same sort of issue.

http://www.clubgtiworcs.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3056

DPJ
28-11-2005, 18:59
Yea I have had all these as well the best one was from the C.I.A. they recon i was on 200 dodgy sites trawling for **** :whistle:

Yes, I've had the CIA one a few times in the last week. (And the dodgiest site I visit is SCN! :D )

Pabs
28-11-2005, 19:04
same spamming sh*te here...

Also getting lots of emails supposedly from Ebay and Paypal recently saying account has been suspended - look really like the real thing but all links point to a different location :S

Carr20vt
28-11-2005, 19:11
Yea I have had all these as well the best one was from the C.I.A. they recon i was on 200 dodgy sites trawling for **** :whistle:


Had the same email today aswell as others with dodgy attachments.

GottaIbizaMk3
28-11-2005, 19:23
best free spam filter for home use is www.spamjab.com

mrcoyote
29-11-2005, 10:09
It'll *probably* be from someone on SCN who's got the kinda worm that sends as if from the domains in it's inbox.

If someone can pull the Senders IP from it i'll check it against the server logs & x.ref it to the usernames

worked before :) user was too stupid to understand tho
I wasn't getting any spam until this thread started, but here's what I've got from the headers now.

Name: host86-142-138-201.range86-142.btcentralplus.com
Address: 86.142.138.201

The emails are laden with the win32/sober virus incase anyone is stupid enough to open the attachments.

slimjim
29-11-2005, 10:12
P0rn, P0rn, P0rn and more P0rn....

Thats what I get for having a ".com" as a home page/e-mither host :doh:

SHADY-NINJA
30-11-2005, 18:38
ive got the same as well full of ****

WeeJase
30-11-2005, 18:43
i'm getting spammed to death by yanks offering me loans/phones etc.about 20 a day.
fecking me orf big style.

LCR mat
30-11-2005, 20:52
Ive recently had my hotmail password changed happened to a mate to- no emails sent between us though. its possible a few ppl knew his but noone other than myself knew mine- it was a 17 letter/number combination so pretty hard to guess too.

Seat_Lass
01-12-2005, 07:28
I had a load come through my Bt (yahoo) account too from this site and a few others.

I get the same junk too. Even increasing the size of my penis, but last time I looked I didnt have one ;)

slimjim
01-12-2005, 09:31
i'm getting spammed to death by yanks offering me loans/phones etc.about 20 a day.
fecking me orf big style.
Wonder if you tried to take these people up on their offer what would happen?

Would they really come over to the UK for you to sign an paper work? :w4nk:ers

sssstew
01-12-2005, 09:34
i get spammed to death i want seatcupra.net to sort it.

thank you :p ;)

slimjim
01-12-2005, 09:37
i get spammed to death i want seatcupra.net to sort it.

thank you :p ;)
I keep getting all these e-mails headed "Reply to post 'Has anyone else been spam..." from some git called "SEAT Cupra.net Forums"

Drives me MAD! :blink:

LordStorm
03-12-2005, 07:44
The spamming has nothing to do with SCN, well not directly.
There is another Sober virus string out there which was recorded last week, this is sent via MSn and Hotmail email addresses and is a direct attack on Microsoft.

The Sober virus uses your pc to send spam to various members of your address book or indeed your Outbox as a secondary disguise, whilst its primary objective is to send spam straight to the Microsoft email servers in a view to bringing these to a stand still.

Microsoft have recognised this and are acting upon it now, but you could go to www.symantec.com and download the fixes for all Sober string viruses and that will stop your machine from being hijacked.

Further more off the back of that, go and buy zonealarm from www.zonealarm.com - brilliant first defence software firewall that stops your machines from being hijacked. If your on ADSL then you could go buy a router, but zonealarm is much cheaper.

Craig