rust and protection - wheel arch

corndog

Nov 14, 2014
I'm looking to rust remove, paint then undercoat my wheel arches.

There's already undercoat slopped up some of it and obviously arch liner to help. with some patches of rust in the are.

i've no experience so if anyone has any advice to offer that would be great.

Thinking of doing it in this order:

Clean out dirt etc with brush/degreaser

Using some sort of abrasive to remove some rust combined with deox c gel

make sure dry and clean.

Zinc oxide or similar primer

Paint of some sort

Rubberized undercoat to cover the whole area.

Thanks for any help. Hoping to get the basics done then look at more fun things to do to the car:D

This is what it looks like after a bit of a clean
EXh74Dd.jpg

W5rKrtY.jpg

mgrays

Dec 9, 2006
Aberdeen
Do it before the salt gets on the road.. probably too late I'm afraid.

Depends how long you want to keep it..
1. Wash car
2. Strip car - inner wheel arches and bumpers
3. Rewash car with a stiff brush and lots of soaking to remove as much mud as you can
4. Poke suspect bits of paint that are bubbling with blunt screwdriver etc
5. Decide if you want to keep car!!
6. Keep car dry so water can dry up out of seams etc. No point sealing it into seams.
7. Use a stiff hand brush (builders brush) to clean off mud and blunt screwdriver to dig it out
8. Chip off thick rust - blunt screwdriver, arc welding chipping hammer, or my tool = needle gun (big one and small one) running off compressor
9. Use wire brush, preferably twisted knot type on 4.5" angle grinder to remove rust, Some places you have to use hand brush. Do not bother with one on the end of a drill.
10. Go over again with chipping rust in corners. I use a very small 6mm wide chisel and small hammer.
10. Blow off dust and tidy up floor
11. Coat with Bilt Hammer or Dynatrol FE-123 rust killer
12. Zinc rich paint nice = Bilt Hammer seems best