Claybar, is it worth it?

briggy

hi guys, got a friend tht has offered to clean, claybar, seal, polish and wax my baby. says he normally charges bout 70quid for it bt will do it for me at mates rates 35 quid. just wanted to know is it worth having done?

rf860

Jan 23, 2010
scotland
yes! i never thought it would be worth claying my little car but the difference if unbelievable. The paintwork is super smooth when its finished and that is a good price to get all that work done which will take the best part of a day for a pro. (about 2 days for me being an amatuer). The best bit is that bugs, tar etc mostly wash off after you pressure wash your car and are very easy to wipe of with the sponge or wash mitt. Hope this helps.

briggy

cheers rf, i had never heard of claying until he explained it to me the other day n wasnt sure so just wanted a bit of advice as im a complete noob.
he sed it will take about 6 hrs bt im gna help him so mite nt take as long n he says he uses something which makes dodo juice look like halfords own brand so gna av t find out what tht is as i always thought dodo juice was the best u cud buy. im usin sum stuff called liquid gold at min tht goes on like custard bt makes it nice n shiny lol it made my old fiesta look like new

suj

Wheel Connoisseur
Jan 1, 2009
Birmingham
do it yourself, not hard, you can get most bits for about that (well more if good wax) and it will last you forever!

what I use:

what i used was the following

Detailing
1) polished wheels (using Brasso stuff, my god is it hard work, did all 4 lips), then using a wheel cleaner (or some fairy + spray bottle, try and get a good one that will foam up, from elitecarcleaning/cleanyourcar) then using a wheel brush got into all the hard to get places, then rinse
2) spray car with water (I use a pressure washer, helps get the dirt off) cleaning inner arches etc