Badger5



Go Back   SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » SEAT Model Specific Discussion Forum includes Members Projects » Leon » Leon Mk2

Leon Mk2 For all topics relating to the Mk2 Leon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018, 15:11   #1
Popeye4th
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Popeye4th has 10 points
Leon tuning

Hi all i have a 2007 seat leon 2.0tdi 140bhp bkd engine. Im wanting to get it remapped but unsure. The guy said he can do it and put it to 180bhp but he asked about mileage and the turbo. The car has done 140k and the turbo is a new recon one as when i bought the car two week after owning it the turbo had problems so got a recon and all been fine. The man said the 2 litres dont like the tuning so wanted to know whats your thoughts and has any of you had it done on the same car and has it been fine. PS my car for some reason dont kick in untill 3.5 sometimes 4 revs the turbo so this is why i want to get it done to see if it sorts the problem out.... cheers
Popeye4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 21:21   #2
ray
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
ray has 10 points
If itís not boosting until that high up then it sounds like itís either been Put on wrong or itís the wrong turbo for the car and needs tuning first.

Iíd recommend getting all the vacuum hoses checked first to ensure theyíre on right before a map.

As for the map itself, do it once everything is in order, Iím sure the 140bhp engines are common rail which handle tuning fine. Wouldnít go over the score and get a safe map, as long as heís an actual tuner and not just someone who fires on generic maps youíll be fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 01:25   #3
Popeye4th
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Popeye4th has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray View Post
If itís not boosting until that high up then it sounds like itís either been Put on wrong or itís the wrong turbo for the car and needs tuning first.

Iíd recommend getting all the vacuum hoses checked first to ensure theyíre on right before a map.

As for the map itself, do it once everything is in order, Iím sure the 140bhp engines are common rail which handle tuning fine. Wouldnít go over the score and get a safe map, as long as heís an actual tuner and not just someone who fires on generic maps youíll be fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for replying. The turbo was same when i bought the car kicked in too late then i replaced it with a recon and still the same. Me and the mechanic checked all the pipes he did a pressure test or something and couldn't find anything. All the rubber seal rings on the pipes have been replaced too. The guy thats doing the mapping said it would take around 1.5 hours to do so im not sure but he's had good reviews.
Popeye4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 01:26   #4
Popeye4th
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Popeye4th has 10 points
He puts it on a dyno with fan in front of car
Popeye4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 01:39   #5
ray
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
ray has 10 points
Sounds promising then, if anything getting the car remapped would be a possible solution for your problem. Although if everything is as it should Iím surprised at such a late boost.

Iím most certainly not the most experienced in these issues so Iím purely going off past experiences and threads Iíve read, but was the actuator changed from the old turbo to new?

From what I remember these issues of no boost until those revs is because the actuator has pretty much seized or not moving as freely as it should, meaning much more pressure is needed to open it up which is why they wait so long to open up and deliver all the power at the end of the Rev range.

If you can get in and around the turbo you can try moving it by hand, it shouldnít feel loose but should be able to move by hand. If itís very stiff or doesnít move that could be your issue.

Lots of WD40 in and around it and keep working it until it loosens off, or strip it off to replace/clean the actuator yourself.

The other solution is get it mapped and hope for the best as the extra pressure may help loosen it off but I canít imagine thatís the preferred route for many to go down.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 11:50   #6
Popeye4th
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Popeye4th has 10 points
Its the one that came with the new turbo but its moving good.
Popeye4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 12:50   #7
ray
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
ray has 10 points
I would contact your tuner and ask him if he can run diagnostics on the car during a drive, the ECU requests a certain amount of boost whilst driving, so heíll be able to see if the car is at least asking for the right compared to how long it takes to actually come in.

Since the actuator is with the other turbo and itís boosting the same Iíd assume the actuator is fine and has been set up correctly.

Or find a VW specialist, sounds to me like your most likely cause is a vacuum hose either leaking or put on wrong.

Sorry I couldnít be of any more help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:53   #8
Fishy
Senior Member
 
Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,134
Fishy has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray View Post
Iím sure the 140bhp engines are common rail which handle tuning fine.
The 140 BKD is a PD engine, not common rail.

They like a map, but the turbo's are a bit chocolate. I ended up replacing mine with a stage 2 hybrid.

Fish
Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 16:34   #9
ray
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
ray has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishy View Post
The 140 BKD is a PD engine, not common rail.



They like a map, but the turbo's are a bit chocolate. I ended up replacing mine with a stage 2 hybrid.



Fish


Every days a school day

The 140s are better than the PD170s though? I know they arenít are crap for the injector issues, I thought it was because they were common rail.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 22:41   #10
Popeye4th
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Popeye4th has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishy View Post
The 140 BKD is a PD engine, not common rail.

They like a map, but the turbo's are a bit chocolate. I ended up replacing mine with a stage 2 hybrid.

Fish
The tuning guy said it would go to 180bhp do you think that be ok or would you ask him to do 170bhp
Popeye4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 11:29   #11
Fishy
Senior Member
 
Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,134
Fishy has 10 points
The tuners all get different figures, you just really want a safe map.

Fish
Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 17:16   #12
auds2
Full Member
 
auds2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 129
auds2 has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popeye4th View Post
Thanks for replying. The turbo was same when i bought the car kicked in too late then i replaced it with a recon and still the same. Me and the mechanic checked all the pipes he did a pressure test or something and couldn't find anything. All the rubber seal rings on the pipes have been replaced too. The guy thats doing the mapping said it would take around 1.5 hours to do so im not sure but he's had good reviews.
I would suggest somethings not right with the car if its not boosting till 3-4k revs. THe BKDs in stock form should be on full boost before 3k never mind just starting to boost.

Get it checked out and put right first before a remap as if its boosting wrong in the first place your not going to benefit from the remap.
If its been like that since you had the car you wont know what the car performs like when its running right, Remapping a car with issues is asking for more issues imo.
auds2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 27
-antero-, AoS, Asce, auds2, bete noir, CRNeo, cupra_ahhh, Darbo, EddieP, Fishy, Hawkers, Jaruba, LCR33, lodge, markh, Muttley, Popeye4th, propane94, QuietQuackers, richicupra, RnPnJ, Rusty2k, Siwill, Skinner, STi69, t121anf, Wizzard
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:53.




Website © 2014 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.