Chris Knott



Go Back   SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » SEAT Model Specific Discussion Forum includes Members Projects » Alhambra

Alhambra Use this forum for Alhambra specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2016, 12:32   #1
Kilimanjaro
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Kilimanjaro has 10 points
Flashing (Amber) Glow-Plug (Engine Workshop!) warning light

Just writing to seek advice. My vehicle is a late 2005 model with 1.9tdi ASZ engine and I have owned it since new. I use it a few times a year to do long trips to Europe/Scotland etc and have done 46000 miles. Last night (on my way from York) I felt the vehicle hesitate briefly then a coiled yellow symbol lit up and started intermittent flashing; there was also a message 'Engine Workshop' appeared on the display panel on the dashboard. I thought the vehicle started running a little rough thereafter but I cant say for certain, the warning(s) did not go off. Does anyone know if there is something known to be the likely cause?

Would purchasing a VAG scanner be recommended? I was thinking of this one; http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321951727385 (I sadly have little faith in some of the workshops around). Any help will be appreciated.

Last edited by Kilimanjaro; 11-01-2016 at 12:32.
Kilimanjaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 16:02   #2
mty12345
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: bristol
Posts: 2,654
mty12345 has 20 points
Hi mate. I know that on the leon and ibiza models a flashing glow plug light usually means that you have a brake light fault, either just a bulb out or the pedal switch not working. Are your brake lights all working ok?

If so then as you say best thing to do is to get yourself a code reader or see if someone near you has VCDS/vagcom.
__________________
Matty
Stage 1 AUQ

Last edited by mty12345; 11-01-2016 at 16:16.
mty12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 17:22   #3
Kilimanjaro
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Kilimanjaro has 10 points
Thank you mty 12345, I have just checked...both brake lights are not lighting up...kinda suggests more the switch than both bulbs to go at the same time. Are the switches known to give trouble? I'll see if I can get a genuine one from somewhere.
Kilimanjaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 22:53   #4
mty12345
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: bristol
Posts: 2,654
mty12345 has 20 points
Yeah they do fail now and again mate, i've replaced mine on the leon before. Eurocarparts or gsf usually sell them, or at least they do for the leon anyway. They usually take about 20 mins to fit.

I've looked it up for you on elsawin and it seems there are 2 possible types on your car. A square one and a round one. Ive attached a diagram of both for you below, as well as one for removing the lower panel if needed.

Square or rectangle bodied switch:

To remove it you turn 90degrees to the left. Then to refit,

[IMG][/IMG]



Round bodied switch:

To remove you turn 45 degrees to the left, then to refit:

[IMG][/IMG]


Lower dash panel removal if needed for access.

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
Matty
Stage 1 AUQ

Last edited by mty12345; 12-01-2016 at 00:20.
mty12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2016, 16:30   #5
Kilimanjaro
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Kilimanjaro has 10 points
Talking Update

Thank you ever so much Matty. It was a piece of cake (using your diagrams) to remove and replace the brake light switch. Everything seems OK now. My next trip in the car will to Paris in late Feb but I am confident there will be no recurrence. I wonder if a dealership would have tried to charge me much more than the £13 it cost to buy a new genuine switch and the ten minutes it took to replace it. Thanks again!

Last edited by Kilimanjaro; 18-01-2016 at 16:31.
Kilimanjaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2016, 17:17   #6
mty12345
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: bristol
Posts: 2,654
mty12345 has 20 points
You're welcome mate. Thanks for the update, it's good to hear that you got it sorted. I'm sure the dealers would have charged you to read the fault code, then £30 for the switch and then at least 1/2 hour labour to fit it, so you did ok for £13 Enjoy your trip to paris.
__________________
Matty
Stage 1 AUQ
mty12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 19:01   #7
Baldric313
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 3
Baldric313 has 10 points
Which Leons would this be applicable to? Mk1, Mk2?

Last edited by Baldric313; 13-01-2018 at 19:01.
Baldric313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 00:24   #8
Kilimanjaro
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Kilimanjaro has 10 points
I believe it applies a whole range of VAG vehicles. Vws, Audis Seats Skodas, the lot.
Kilimanjaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 22
90landrover, Andy_D, baba_metca, Baldric313, boxylady, Brego, daisydeedee, DAVEMO888, Dmcvw60, Gerico1000, heatfan8, Kilimanjaro, Loz, lucy_t, mgallagh, mty12345, NathFRMk2, raydavies49, revdave, ScoobyStu, Smoke'n'poke, xs2man
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05.




Website © 2014 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.