SportShifters



Go Back   SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » Diagnostics, Tuning and Modification » Engine Discussion » TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics

TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics exclusively for SEAT diesel specific topics only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 21:30   #1
kevin_w90
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cupra TDI turbo late boosting

Hello, First time posting on the diesel forum . Right, the car feels dead up until about 3k and the turbo kicks in with alot of boost. As yous will be aware it normal boosts about 2-2.5k and there is a decent amount of power before the turbo.

Had it into a garage the other day, it read boost pressure. Its not vag com but it was the best they had at the moment. Its going to seat on monday but last thing i want is a new turbo when it still works just not at the right time. It sounds fine the car, not so much of a turbo whistle right enough but thats becasue its not kicking in early.

I had the wastegate cleaned and it was really built up with carbon, could this be the vains clogged also? Its basicaly happended all of a sudden, no real build up too it, just one day I started it upafter work and it started.

Had the maf off and had a little run without it and no difference. Really confusing and annoying me.

Any help would be really great.

Thanks
Kevin
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 23:31   #2
JPS3290
Dirty Diesel
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Durham
Posts: 447
JPS3290 has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_w90 View Post
Hello, First time posting on the diesel forum . Right, the car feels dead up until about 3k and the turbo kicks in with alot of boost. As yous will be aware it normal boosts about 2-2.5k and there is a decent amount of power before the turbo.

Had it into a garage the other day, it read boost pressure. Its not vag com but it was the best they had at the moment. Its going to seat on monday but last thing i want is a new turbo when it still works just not at the right time. It sounds fine the car, not so much of a turbo whistle right enough but thats becasue its not kicking in early.

I had the wastegate cleaned and it was really built up with carbon, could this be the vains clogged also? Its basicaly happended all of a sudden, no real build up too it, just one day I started it upafter work and it started.

Had the maf off and had a little run without it and no difference. Really confusing and annoying me.

Any help would be really great.

Thanks
Kevin
You checked boost pipes for splits?

Mine did something similar and made a strange 'flapping' kind of noise when accelerating. Turned out that the pipe coming out of the turbo back into the engine (best way I can describe it) had been rubbing against a metal clip (crap design) and created a 1 inch split on the bottom of the pipe.

Duct taped it up until they ordered me a new one under warranty and was fine. It showed the same symptoms of not boosting as much lower down and also bit more smoke out of the exhaust.
__________________
Vauxhall Insignia 160 CDTI | CBR 600 FS + PowerCommander Custom Remap
JPS3290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 00:59   #3
Muttley
Catch that diesel!
 
Muttley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Kent
Posts: 4,946
Muttley has far too many pointsMuttley has far too many pointsMuttley has far too many points
kevin_w wrote

I had the wastegate cleaned and it was really built up with carbon, could this be the vains clogged also? Its basicaly happended all of a sudden, no real build up too it, just one day I started it upafter work and it started.

Er. This is a PD engine with a VNT (i.e. variable geometry, with vanes in the exhaust turbine) turbocharger. It doesn't have a wastegate.

What's the location of the bit that you had cleaned? If its under the silver saucer at the back of the engine compartment, on the inlet manifold, then its the EGR valve. They can clog up with a sticky sooty deposit formed when hot sooty exhaust hits the oil vapour from the crankcase ventilation that gets pumped into the inlet charge.

Sooted-up EGR doesn't necessarily mean sooted-up vanes, but it is more likely than not. What mileage has the engine done, and is much of it at low-to-medium speeds i.e. in slow-moving traffic queues?


Had the maf off and had a little run without it and no difference. Really confusing and annoying me.

No difference with and without the MAF indicates a failed MAF.
Muttley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 09:52   #4
rod the sod
Senior Member
 
rod the sod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Wales
Posts: 811
rod the sod has 10 points
Hey i had a similar problem with my new hybrid pd turbo! The VNT was set up wrong and i was having major boost @ about 3k! As for as i kno this only really goes wrong if you have adjusted to fiddlied with the turbo - unless you have a faulty one.

With the vains being faulty the turbo should kick in then feel like it boosts again at a higher rev range.

i would check for small boost leaks before you start thinking about playing with more expensive stuff!
rod the sod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 16:27   #5
kevin_w90
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cupra Turbo

Ahh i see, sorry the egr valve it was, was the bit up beside the silver plate bit. (not very good with engineslol). The car has done 72000 miles. Up until November the car was getting about 500 miles a week with long open roads. Now its main dirve is a 3 miles too work and back but no real stop starts as I live in the country and my work isn't in a town. So cars not even doing 100 miles a week now.

Hopeing its just needing a clean an not a new turbo, got it booked into a dealer on monday but dont want them to go replace the whole turbo when it is still boosting.

Is the turbo down the back of the engine under the egr valve? Ahh the maf may be gone since it never made a difference? When it was pluged in the code histroy ready maf short (thought that was when I unpluged it) and had a boost error.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 00:27   #6
Muttley
Catch that diesel!
 
Muttley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Kent
Posts: 4,946
Muttley has far too many pointsMuttley has far too many pointsMuttley has far too many points
If unplugging the MAF makes no difference to the way the car drives, then the MAF is shot.
Muttley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 12:05   #7
S3 AKR
livin' the dream!!!
 
S3 AKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colchester, Essex
Posts: 1,468
S3 AKR has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin_w90 View Post
When it was pluged in the code histroy ready maf short (thought that was when I unpluged it) and had a boost error.
Not sure about the boost error you mention, but the "MAF Short" will stay in the DTC list till cleared by vag-com.
__________________
Now:- Leon FR 180 TSI, Cayman R, 2003 Mini Cooper S
Past SEATS: - Leon CR170 Supercopa, Leon FR PD150 TDI (202bhp/310ftlb) and a Toledo 20VT Sport
S3 AKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 17:01   #8
MJ
Public transport abuser
 
MJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,654
MJ has 90 points
it will only say {mass air flow sensor G75 - open circuit} denoting that its been unplugged.
__________________
Back with the Seat brand after 2 years!

James - Master Technician @ Pentagon Seat Oldham
MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 18:28   #9
S3 AKR
livin' the dream!!!
 
S3 AKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colchester, Essex
Posts: 1,468
S3 AKR has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ View Post
it will only say {mass air flow sensor G75 - open circuit} denoting that its been unplugged.
I was assuming as MJ quotes above, that this was the error logged.

If you get any logs then its best to keep them and search the forums for info on them. There's a load of info available, particularly on here, the UK-MKIVS forum, Briskoda and Ross-tech - all pretty good and reliable sources of info. (Plus MJ seems to know what he's on about from what I've seen )
__________________
Now:- Leon FR 180 TSI, Cayman R, 2003 Mini Cooper S
Past SEATS: - Leon CR170 Supercopa, Leon FR PD150 TDI (202bhp/310ftlb) and a Toledo 20VT Sport
S3 AKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 20:43   #10
alexcuprapd160
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
alexcuprapd160 has 10 points
this thread is years old but i have the same question with the exact same issue as the first post and wondered what the solution was?
alexcuprapd160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2017, 17:40   #11
cheshire cat
Full Member
 
cheshire cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: cheshire
Posts: 1,758
cheshire cat has 10 points
check it's holding vac on the line from the "valve block" to turbo if OK then check for actuator movement on the turbo
__________________
Nic
cheshire cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 69
159chrisymc, A.m.C_Ibiza1, alexcuprapd160, Andrewcupra TDI, andypandypoos, ant49, Art0ir, asthpsw, bonsaiman, bruceR, cheshire cat, conkerman, cupratdi-matt, danny20vt, darkhorse, David Hosie, davidmills2002, derv_dan, dobre_wrx, drooghi, DScape, Elliot29, fettweg, FR8ZER, gac, garethgje, georgebibizafr, Ginger Si, great_kahn, gunsdontkillppl, harj, hawtin1584, holty, Jasondeanr1, JPS3290, Kpang1234, l.e.star, magicmcfc, millsyscossie, MJ, mty12345, Mully, Muttley, MWG, Nick172, onesh0t, Popeye4th, Richy!!!, rod the sod, ross p, Rusty2k, S3 AKR, Scotty2hotty, SeanyK, Seat Adam, speedy_666, sssstew, Storey1984, Swig, SwinDan, t111bul, Tander, techie, trebormint, trillers, Ushuss, verbal_kint, vroomtshh, Wheely
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52.




Website © 2014 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.