Leaks in rear footwells

Suz

Feb 15, 2017
Dorset
Sorry to be a pain, I'm new to the whole fixing things on your car yourself.
So I've got two extremely wet rear footwells in my Leon MK1. No sign of leakage anywhere other than when I open the doors in the morning(when it's rained) there is often some water that leaks out.
It's not wet in the front two footwells. However the front two doors collect water too.
I have no idea what to do other than lift up the carpet and see if there's anything going on underneath.
The other idea i have is that it's the seals on the doors that just need replacing.
I've read through loads of threads and found lots of information but none of it sounds quite like the problem I've got.
Before I start taking the inside of my car apart I was just wondering if anyone has any idea what the problem could be?
Thanks

Thai-wronghorse

Self proclaimed Cupra R addict & butcher!
Dec 3, 2015
Kent
Unfortunately you're Leon is suffering from probably one of the most common faults that they get...leaky window regulator panels.
Apart from the obvious wet footwells, the biggest tale tell sign is the soggy sills whenever you open a door.
Basically any moisture that runs down the window on the outside falls into the open void of the door and is supposed to drain out of the bottom.
If the seals have deteriorated on the inner panel then this moisture seeps out onto the inner door sills and into the car.

There are literally hundreds of threads regarding the problem and the cheapest and easiest way to resolve it is buying a £10 roll of buytl rubber from eBay and resealing all of the panels.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

chad.overton.50

Nov 19, 2017
Check the drain holes the bottom of the door they get full of dirt

Pull the rudder seal off That's on the bottom of the door as well give that a clean

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Sparkie

Angling Adict.
Sep 25, 2009
Middlesex