which Leon would you choose 2.0tdi DSG 184 or 1.4tsi DSG 150

LondonPirata

Jun 10, 2017
NW London
hi im a newbie and glad to be here. this is the second leon i've owned having had a FR 2.0tdi dsg 170bhp in 2011. I'm trying to choose which to buy on a lease A 2017 Leon Xcellence ST 2.0tdi DSG 184bhp or an Xcellence ST 1.4tsi DSG 150bhp. The costs to me to lease and insure are very similar So it appears to me that I should choose the 184bhp model. is there any reason why i shouldnt? have i missed anything out or is it a no brainer.:confused:

BenH

Sep 16, 2016
Nottingham
hi im a newbie and glad to be here. this is the second leon i've owned having had a FR 2.0tdi dsg 170bhp in 2011. I'm trying to choose which to buy on a lease A 2017 Leon Xcellence ST 2.0tdi DSG 184bhp or an Xcellence ST 1.4tsi DSG 150bhp. The costs to me to lease and insure are very similar So it appears to me that I should choose the 184bhp model. is there any reason why i shouldnt? have i missed anything out or is it a no brainer.:confused:

In that case it probably depends on the mileage you do. Are you doing enough to warrant a diesel? Could you maintain that engine or do you just drive around the city on a commute? The petrol engine returns very good fuel efficiency and is quite nippy, so I hear! If you were comparing the 2.0tdi 150 and the 2.0tdi 184 then it's a no brainier but petrol vs diesel is a different matter

Ronnie Bagel

Monsoon Grey ST 290 DSG
Jul 15, 2016
Tamworth
I'd nip and do a test drive mate. Think they will drive quite a bit differently and it will depend on which you prefer. The 184 will have loads more torque, but will peak earlier; the 150 will obviously be quieter, at least until you're revving the nuts off it ....then there's the 'potential' for better economy in the diesel. You'll probably find that you'll be chasing revs in the 150, so I bet there won't be much difference in the end.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Big Col

Nov 5, 2013
North Ayrshire