Cupra 280/290 calipers

thebrief1979

Dec 1, 2017
Worcester
Hi guys

Newbie here

I have a leon st 184 fr with 18" orista alloys - so standard 312 vented discs front and 272 solid rear

Was looking to get the calipers painted as mine looked aweful but then decided to go all out and picked up some cupra calipers + carriers (340 front and 310 rear) today - yes the ones on ebay.bit late now but Firstly will they fit under the alloys? Secondly I need new pads on the front - any recommendation and ideally a link or part number

From the rest of my research it appears that there is no difference to the master cylinder between the models nor the hand brake cables

Thanks guys

Tristan

Snowman

Mar 16, 2014
Stock Cupra calipers should fit fine under the 18" wheels if you look at the disc diameter, you MIGHT however need spacers to distance the wheel from the caliper.

thebrief1979

Dec 1, 2017
Worcester
Cheers for both of those replies - excellent thought about the spacers - mmm that would be a pain if I had fitted the brakes then to find the wheels didn't go back on

thebrief1979

Dec 1, 2017
Worcester
Ok so - another few eBay steals : genuine new front pads - £55 Inc delivery and genuine used dust shields in nearly new condition - £10 for all four.

Just need to order a new "cupra " caliper cover and then we are ready to go - although I am actually going to sand both caliper covers down to remove the cupra logo and spray them plain red as I am not trying to create a replica. Also planning to spray the centre's and edges of the discs in silver to pretty them up too

Probably a job for one day over christmas to spray it up and fit it

thebrief1979

Dec 1, 2017
Worcester
Well the fronts went on easy enough but i now have a soft brake pedal despite bleeding it 3 times. Howefull the bite wiĺ improve as it all beds in - might do the rears next weekend and get it into Seat to powerbleed it through.

thebrief1979

Dec 1, 2017
Worcester