Ibiza Starting and Idle problems - Solved!

RohnIbiza

Hi Guys, complete newbie here.

I thought i'd share my pain and eventual solutions to a couple of problems i've had with my Mk2 1.4 Ibiza. When trying to solve these problems the forums were invaluable but I thought i'd summarise what exactly fixed the problems!

For reference my car is a 1998 Seat Ibiza 1.4 SXE (Engine code AEX) 8v

Problems:
- Car would start in the cold absolutely fine. However, if you tried to start the car when it was warm it would fire but inevetibly die! The only way you could get it to start would be to keep your foot on the accelerator for maybe 5-10 seconds after the engine fired up, eventually the car would then start to idle and be ready to go...

- When pulling upto a stop the car would judder quite violently when the clutch was pressed. This was due to it not idleing properly.

Solutions:
- Firsly my mechanic diagnosed clutch judder (THIS WAS NOT THE CASE AT ALL - Although I can kinda see why he thought that)

- After reading many similar forums I found out that the poor starting may be due to Coolant Sensor (Also known as a temperature sender).
There are brillant instructions of where the sensor is located and how to replace here:
http://www.clubpolo.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=100712

A few things though. The likelyhood is you will lose alot of coolant - find some way of catching it! The rubber seal thing the author talks about is actually a plastic C-clip that just pulls out (towards you) by hand.

This solved the starting problems, the car would start first time, everytime. The car still juddered on idle though.

-Again after reading many forums the idle problem was found to be a filthy throttle body.