Leon 110 turbo access for innotec cleaning

RightFootVolley

Hi all, first time poster so hopefully I'm not covering old ground.

I'm getting occasional limp mode when accelerating up steep hills (I live in Buxton so steep hills are one thing we have plenty of!). Because of this and having read some of the threads on here I bought the innotec turbo cleaning kit off ebay. I'm no mechanic but I'm prepared to give out a go myself, providing I can get access to the turthe required part of the turbo from above the car.
Does anyone know if this will be possible, or will I need to get underneath the car?

Thanks in advance,
Tim

BenG

Ben
Oct 26, 2011
Cove Bay, Aberdeen
Don't know about the 110 but I've got a TDI 150 and the turbo is invisible from above, and seems to be more accessible from below, with the central section of the undertray off. Removing the turbo is well beyond my mechanical skills though!

Maybe worth trying posting the question on the Leon subforum?

RightFootVolley

Thanks for your reply, it's well past my mechanical expertise as well and I don't have any ramps or axle stands to access the undertray. I've got a service coming up so maybe I'll ask them to do it.

Cheers

sonnex22

Jul 26, 2010
before you get the turbo cleaned try cleaning the EGR (accessed from the top of the engine bay), when i had limp mode last year that is what i was advised by Seat and it worked.

RightFootVolley

Thanks Sonnex, as it can be accessed from above I think it's just about within the realms of what I'm capable of so I'll give it a bash. What sort of time frame am I looking at for doing it?

towcester vag

Oct 17, 2011
duston northants
remove exhaust downpipe 3 nuts
then squirt the cleaner into turbo trying to get it past the compressor fan
cover with you made template and leave for 20 mins
manually move actuator arm using 14mm short spanner making sure it moves full sweep

RightFootVolley