Buying a Leon TDi (2000)

Danyp

Hi Guys/Gals :D

I am new to SEAT and to Diesels... so would really appreciate any help from you guys! :help:

I am planning to a buy a 2000 X Reg Leon (1.9TDi S).

The car has done 47K miles from new with 2 owners. Full SEAT Service History.

Featurelist
-Manual
-47,000 miles
-Red
-Air Conditioning
-Adjustable Steering Column
-Anti-Lock Brakes
-Power Assisted Steering
-Electric Windows (Front)

Price: £4000

ln1ia1.jpg

ln2lx0.jpg

Before I make the decision to take the plunge... i would really like some :help: from you all :)

I took the car for a test drive today and have a few doubts I hope you guys can help me with.

When I got to the dealer, the car was already running (not that pleased seeing that)... So i tried looking under the bonnet and all looks good there, but when i started to drive off I could see quite a lot of smoke (White/light grey) coming out of the back of the car... for a sec I thought it was about to break down or somethin... but after a couple of minutes it kinda went off and was less smoky. Is this normal for this car??? BTW the time was 2PM... and it was pretty sunny today.... I also noticed that the car smoked if i rev high in lower gears... being new to diesels I would really appreciate if anyone in here could please confirm this smoking issue.

The second quesiton, might be a stupid one :) , does this car have a cam belt?? If so, how often does it need replacing?

Third one... when i turned on the Ignition, before I start the car, it showed "Service" on the instrument cluster... does this mean the car is due a service?? and once it showed "ERROR" on the screen next to the stereo and the instrument Cluster... what does this mean?

I would really appreciate if you guys could please help me with the above questions and let me know if there is anythin else I should look for before buying

Cheers
Dany

FINN

Nov 21, 2006
Northern Ireland - Belfast
Hi Danny,