Leon ST Which wheel Size and Engine

offshore

Jan 31, 2018
I have never owned a SEAT before, and I am not a great mechanic - apologies for my very basic question.

I have been looking at the wheel configuration on the Leon ST (estate)

The SE Dynamic Technology is fitter with 17 " alloy wheels; the more expensive Technology is fitted with 16" wheels.

Will the larger 17 " wheels on this cheaper model make it more uncomfortable I wonder?

Also the latest 1.0 TSI Ecomotive engine is another £2000 more than the older 1.2 TSI. I sense the larger engine could be more reliable, but that is not based on any particular experience or knowledge of my own.

I would be interested in other peoples opinions on this?

Thanks

KXL

KXL
Dec 15, 2016
London, UK
Well the 17inch wheels are nicer to look at, I suspect they are a larger tyre, 225/45 R17, and 16inch tyres are 205/55 R16. 17 inch tyres are wider...so more rubber on the road.

I would say the 17inch ones will be marginally less comfortable and less economical, but may give better road feedback and handling.

The new 1.0 TSI engine (I have this in my Ibiza) is more powerful and more economical than the outgoing 1.2 TSI.

The 1.0 is 3 cylinders, and you may find it more vibrating at the pedals on idle, but when it's up and going its very quiet and refined.

If you are more frequently than not going to fill your ST with heavy stuff and people, not sure either of these engines would be the right engine for the job.

If it's just yourself and another person and sometimes have some big stuff to haul around, you should be fine.

What would your car use be predominatly? If it's city driving, 1.0 is fine...if slow highways (usually 40-50mph roads) 1.0 TSI is fine too. However if you are going long distances (200+ miles a week) at 70mph. 1.6TDI would be better.