JKM Performance



Go Back   SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » Diagnostics, Tuning and Modification » Engine Discussion » TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics

TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics exclusively for SEAT diesel specific topics only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2007, 22:40   #1
Wallis22
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 282
Wallis22 has 10 points
Remap Vs Tuning Box

I apoligize if this has been covered before, but can anyone tell me the advantages and disadvantages of getting my car remapped or buying a tuning box for it. (Is anyone against tuing boxes? If so, why?)

I've found a tuning box for £175 with online discount. They say it will take my mk2 Ibiza TDI from 90BHP to 113BHP, and Torque increases from 202 Nm to 257 Nm. Does anyone know what a remap would give me? (Basic stage 1 remap), and roughly how much it would cost. Thanks.
Wallis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:01   #2
devonmikeyboy
Senior Member
 
devonmikeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cullompton . Devon
Posts: 2,906
devonmikeyboy has 10 points
I take it you have`nt tried to use the surch function on SCN then as you would have hours of reading on the subject.
Sorry to be unhelpful but this has been talked to death.
__________________
06 Audi 2.0 PD140 Quattro 330 bhp @ flywheels 263 bhp @ wheel 490 lb torque. .Magazine write up here. Now rebuilt Cryo engine/gearbox,bigger turbo+injectors wanting 400 bhp.PD140 ported head for sale. 2nd car 500bhp MK4 Golf R32 turbo.
devonmikeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:03   #3
goble
Senior Member
 
goble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,567
goble has 10 points


tuning box
goble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:10   #4
Wallis22
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 282
Wallis22 has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by devonmikeyboy View Post
I take it you have`nt tried to use the surch function on SCN then as you would have hours of reading on the subject.
Sorry to be unhelpful but this has been talked to death.
I have but i was looking for a bit more info. Most people just say they're rubbish, but don't say why. They say they over fuel the engine, but don't say what damage (if any) this can cause. But then again someone said they're ok, so...

To make it a bit more specific, if you were on limited finds and wanted to improve performance, would you (anybody) get a tuning box or would you save up and get a remap? Thanks.
Wallis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:29   #5
timmahhhhhh
Full Member
 
timmahhhhhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 65
timmahhhhhh has 10 points
Get the car on a rolling road to see the effects of any tuning. I saved money here by creating my own high-tech rolling road and software, I'm very pleased with the results, aiming for 500+ now, I reckon a bigger tuning box should sort it.



__________________
FR TDI 150
timmahhhhhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:33   #6
goble
Senior Member
 
goble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,567
goble has 10 points
goble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:37   #7
devonmikeyboy
Senior Member
 
devonmikeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cullompton . Devon
Posts: 2,906
devonmikeyboy has 10 points
Don`t take it personally Wallis22 they gays sorry guys are only messing with you. A tuning box is OK if you can get a good make cheap but these days there are many mobile mappers that can map cars for £300ish. I had a box on my PD130 back in 2004 and it was OK did the job but a remap is a lot better.
__________________
06 Audi 2.0 PD140 Quattro 330 bhp @ flywheels 263 bhp @ wheel 490 lb torque. .Magazine write up here. Now rebuilt Cryo engine/gearbox,bigger turbo+injectors wanting 400 bhp.PD140 ported head for sale. 2nd car 500bhp MK4 Golf R32 turbo.
devonmikeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:49   #8
timmahhhhhh
Full Member
 
timmahhhhhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 65
timmahhhhhh has 10 points
Yep, I initially looked at tuning boxes, very briefly, but decided against it and am saving up for a proper remap from one of the many reputable tuners talked about on here.
__________________
FR TDI 150
timmahhhhhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 23:50   #9
ChrisUK
Eat My Smoke
 
ChrisUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 2,361
ChrisUK has 10 points
Remap is 10X better, it interfaces with the ECU & actually tells it what to do.

A tuning box just "fools" the ECu into overfueling, casing smoke & god knows what long term damage.

Stage 1 remap is less than £300 anyway, so save up you numpty
__________________
2007 Freelander 2 HSE - Current Car
2005 LEON FR TDI - Sold
ChrisUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 00:17   #10
daveyonthemove
Smile if you like SEAT's
 
daveyonthemove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 1,575
daveyonthemove has 10 points
On my old car (Pug 307 HDI 110) i tried both a Tuning Box and a Remap.
The TB was good. Not brilliant, but it did what it claimed. I got increased power and torque but fuel economy dropped, and the car felt like it had more. After a while i sold it and put the money towards a remap.
The remap was better. Much better. More power and torque, smoother power delivery and NO flat spots. Different car altogether plus MPG increased.
I didn't suffer any excessive smoe from either and both gave power gains, but when i bought my current car i had no doubts where the money was going to be spent where tuning was involved....... remap every time
If you do decide that you budget will only allow a TB then avoid Ebay if you can. Go to a specialist or known company as you will get better support if you should need it.
IMO it's worth staying standard for a bit longer and saving the extra for a remap, but the decision lies with you.
__________________
Moved across to Skoda.
daveyonthemove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:57   #11
muddyboots
Still hanging around
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,813
muddyboots has 20 points
A tuning box from a well-established company, that actually has some intelligence (rather than just being a resistor in a box that fools the ECU into thinking the fuel is hotter, so it injects more) can do a reasonably good job.
I've read articles in Diesel Car in the past where they've fitted tuning boxes, tweaked the settings on them, and got very good results.

However, for a decent tuning box you'll be paying almost as much as you would for a remap - and a remap will always give better results as it allows control over many more engine parameters.

But then of course a tuning box can be removed and sold on.

If I were to choose, it would be a remap every time.
muddyboots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:58   #12
muddyboots
Still hanging around
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,813
muddyboots has 20 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmahhhhhh View Post
^^^ That looks like the results Ed Butler got at Awesome when his clutch was slipping
muddyboots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 14:57   #13
sssstew
Editing your spelling
 
sssstew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny Side Up
Posts: 6,658
sssstew has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallis22 View Post
I apoligize if this has been covered before, but can anyone tell me the advantages and disadvantages of getting my car remapped or buying a tuning box for it. (Is anyone against tuing boxes? If so, why?)

I've found a tuning box for £175 with online discount. They say it will take my mk2 Ibiza TDI from 90BHP to 113BHP, and Torque increases from 202 Nm to 257 Nm. Does anyone know what a remap would give me? (Basic stage 1 remap), and roughly how much it would cost. Thanks.
Your older style non PD engine doesnt use the fuel temp sensor type box which the newer PD ones use. The type your looking at plugs into the connector for the fuel pump and is literally just a resistor in a box, making it inject more fuel. I had one some time ago and yes it did increase power. But over time i didnt like the fact it made the engine quite lumpy and rough (but then i had it up on max) it also made my fuel economy drop which i didnt like at all. I removed and sold on.

A remap by Upsolute who are best for the non PDs would be about £250 and is a better, smoother option in my view.
__________________
sssstew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 18:21   #14
Wallis22
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 282
Wallis22 has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by sssstew View Post
Your older style non PD engine doesnt use the fuel temp sensor type box which the newer PD ones use. The type your looking at plugs into the connector for the fuel pump and is literally just a resistor in a box, making it inject more fuel. I had one some time ago and yes it did increase power. But over time i didnt like the fact it made the engine quite lumpy and rough (but then i had it up on max) it also made my fuel economy drop which i didnt like at all. I removed and sold on.

A remap by Upsolute who are best for the non PDs would be about £250 and is a better, smoother option in my view.
That's excellent info! Thanks a million.

If i can get it remapped for about £300 then it's a no brainer really... Thanks again to everyone who's helped!
Wallis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 18:42   #15
muddyboots
Still hanging around
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,813
muddyboots has 20 points
If you want to use Upsolute, the man you want is Simon Coe, lives in Chesterfield (Derbyshire) but will travel to you to do the work. He did my Passat.
His contact detail are here: http://www.ccctech.co.uk/chiptuning.php
muddyboots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 19:16   #16
Wallis22
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 282
Wallis22 has 10 points
Thanks a lot for that. Will i have to take the car to him or is he mobile? Thanks.
Wallis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 19:20   #17
daveyonthemove
Smile if you like SEAT's
 
daveyonthemove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 1,575
daveyonthemove has 10 points


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallis22 View Post
Thanks a lot for that. Will i have to take the car to him or is he mobile? Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyboots View Post
If you want to use Upsolute, the man you want is Simon Coe, lives in Chesterfield (Derbyshire) but will travel to you to do the work. He did my Passat.
His contact detail are here: http://www.ccctech.co.uk/chiptuning.php
__________________
Moved across to Skoda.
daveyonthemove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 19:23   #18
Wallis22
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 282
Wallis22 has 10 points
LMAO. I thought i saw somewhere that he would come to me! Must pay more attention!
Wallis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 21:43   #19
Feel
Veedubya 'velle
 
Feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Midlands
Posts: 5,370
Feel has 10 points
Ohhh, look, Simon can do the vankerwagen - not everyone can.

The P-Box is great, but I often wonder what a proper remap will do...
__________________
Phil

http://www.itseeze-nottingham.co.uk
Feel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 10:15   #20
AwesomeSarah
Forum Sponsor
 
AwesomeSarah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,099
AwesomeSarah has 10 points
I have tried a tuning box on my car (Fabia 100PD)
Mmmm not bad , torque was better but not smooth at all
I got used to it very quickly (only 2 days) then took it off and it did seem a bit lower in power
There was no extra smoke that I could see and fuel economy was about the same
Then I had a custom remap for fuel economy
Wow........loads more power , really really smooth torqe , so much more fun to drive and I got 5mpg more , so I got big grins all round
I have tried quite a bit of stuff on my car , but I must admit , the remap is the best by far
Mmmm remap all the way for me
Sarah
AwesomeSarah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 23
bentdi, BigV, Blakrover, Charlie20v, cupra-c_ya, dangerskuz, deanomite, gak47, krisby, landie9, Leeroymk1, M-c-G, mark.pt, Richy!!!, SeanCorky, sherfield71, si2252, SimonFRTDI, si_devil1, such, Toby Davis, unclerichy, zebert
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pd Box For 2.0 Tdi 170 (beware) REDLEONFRTDI06 Leon Mk2 12 30-12-2010 17:59
where does this tuning box go brad1 Leon Mk1 11 28-09-2007 18:52
Adusting PSI Tuning Box -anyone Help? BIJ TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics 0 16-05-2005 15:12
TDi owners: REVO or TUNING BOX?? seat130fr TDi Tuning 28 17-11-2004 11:32
Guy selling Tuning Box on TDIClub mik TDi - SEAT Diesel specific topics 2 14-11-2001 17:03


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35.




Website © 2014 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.