Icestorm's hybrid LCR mk1 374.2bhp and 341.8lbft

icestorm81

Sep 9, 2008
Dorset, Dorchester
It was the beginning of 2007 when I had been driving for 6 years and had built up my no claims bonus to 5 years and so could afford the insurance on a quicker car. My current car was a metallic black Fiat Bravo 1.6 HLX, which I had owned for almost 3 years and I had done all the cheap modifications for insurance, to make it a great little car. Power was only 108hp and it would cost a lot of money to make it quicker. Was originally going to get a Ford Focus ST MK1, but after seeing the Leon Cupra R in Project Gothan Racing 2 on the original Xbox, my mind was set. It was the late summer of 2007 that I finally sold the Bravo and then started the lookout for a Leon Cupra R in either red or yellow. Sometime around the middle of October, I was on my break at college, in the IT rooms, and came across a lovely red one with only 22,000 miles on the clock, it was just over 3 years old and the price was £11,500 ono. Sad news, it was over 300 miles away, but after talking to the buyer, my luck was in, he would be visiting his parents, which was only 100 miles away from me, the following weekend and he would hold the car. So that very weekend I headed down with a mate to see the car. It looked stunning, seeing it for the first time and after spending the next 30 minutes looking and checking it over I offered him £10,500 in cash and he accepted on the spot. Insurance was sorted out over the phone with one of the lowest quotes I found myself earlier, which was just over £700 with a £450 excess. The drive home was fun, it was a dry day and it took me a while to get used to all that power. The car stayed totally standard until the summer of 2009 when I got a Revo stage one map done, couple of months later was followed by a full turbo back 3'' blueflame exhaust and a Revo stage 2 map added. Main hybrid turbo work was carried out in the summer of 2016. More to follow

Current Modifications-