Votex


SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » Announcements, FAQs & Rules » ** FORUM RULES & FAQ - Please Read ** » Comments, Suggestions and Announcements » Forum Virus On The Prowle

Comments, Suggestions and Announcements Got something to say about SEATCupra.net? Want to suggest a feature for the site, or even spotted an error? Let us know in here.

Reply
Old 09-05-2006, 09:50   #1
silver surfer
Full Member
 
silver surfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: out there over the edge
Posts: 264
Angry Forum Virus On The Prowle

CAN EVERY ONE KEEP A LOOK OUT FOR BOGUS EMAILS FROM CUPRA NET AS CLUB LUPO WAS HACKED YESTERDAY AND INFECTED WITH A VIRUS.THEY MANAGED TO GET IN TO ADMIN AND SEND PROPER LOOKING EMAIL WITH A TREAD ATTACHED AND ALSO INFECTED THE SITE .A LOT OF USERS GOT A MIN OF 19 INFECTIONS BUT SOME WERE LUCKY
From: "Club Lupo" <donotreply@clublupo.co.uk>
Date: May 08 2006, 02:08 PM
Subject: *** SPAM *** From clublupo.co.uk. Try our new service! ( Club Lupo ) Show full header

little red devil,We have made a small tool for our site, I think you will guess what to do with it...
[-------------.EXE.]
SO IF YOU SEE ANYTHING LIKE THIS DELETE
silver surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 10:00   #2
Saul
SCN Admin
 
Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,887
did club lupo use an invision powered board?

this seems very prone to attack at the moment with 3 i know of already hacked
__________________
Saul
SCN Admin

email: saul@seatcupra.net url: http://www.seatcupra.net

Golf Edition 30

SNWMAPS 'Ring Tour 2003
Saul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 10:30   #3
ZBOYD
SCN Admin
 
ZBOYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 11,111
Exclamation Warning!!

Anything that comes from Admin@, or Staff@ or Info@ or anything like that from Cupra.net should be ignored!! As they are not from us.

The only ones you'll receive from us on the seatcupra.net domain, are either personal emails, ie zboyd@, mark@, saul@ and possibly forum@

We won't send you any attachments for checking your password or account details or any nonsense like that, simply because we dont need to. Anything we want you to have in terms of downloads, we will link you to our server for, for you to download from.

Always treat any email with the upmost care, keep your virus definitions upto date, and if in doubt, don't open any attachments, if you were not expecting it, then its probably a virus.

The viruses dont come from us, its just our url being spoofed, probably by someone who has a virus on their own PC, who has visted SCN or has been in touch with someone on SCN by email at some point, so they have an SCN address in their address book.
__________________
Mark
SEATCupra.Net Head Administrator & Pimp Daddy
email: zboyd@seatcupra.net url: www.seatcupra.net/
07 Inferi Black Leon Cupra TFSi - with a sprinkle of extras. It's here - Check it out!!

Last edited by ZBOYD; 09-05-2006 at 10:33.
ZBOYD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 10:57   #4
Icecavern
ICE God
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,458
Yeah clublupo use Invision and were hacked the same. Just looked and they've updated to the latest version so hopefully it'll be ok now
__________________
Project Cordy for Sale

My Wedding Photography blogsite www.stewardsonphotography.co.uk
Icecavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 18:12   #5
silver surfer
Full Member
 
silver surfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: out there over the edge
Posts: 264
Unhappy forum virus

dident know if anyone else knew about the virus thing and other forums
so thought it a good idea to let everyone know.glad to hear cupra.net ok
and the hacker need to in hell
silver surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 09:42   #6
Trumpetman21
Fully Membered
 
Trumpetman21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 439
Any .exe attachment should be ignored, same with .zip files unless you're expecting them.
__________________
2008 RenaultSport Megane 225 Cup & 2001 Honda CBR900RRY 929cc FireBlade
Previously: 2005 Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI
Trumpetman21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 11:05   #7
slimjim
Professional Muppet
 
slimjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Telford, UK
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icecavern
Yeah clublupo use Invision and were hacked the same. Just looked and they've updated to the latest version so hopefully it'll be ok now
Think I may have had this from you Pete.....

Well from IceCavern.co.uk .....
__________________
"I even tried to get arrested today
But everyone looked the other way
I count the hours, and I count the days
But for once I'm certain

Don't want your help"

- Helpless



6-0, damn these fixtures are far apart
slimjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
forum, prowle, virus

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 0
There are no names to display.
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*** FORUM RULES *** - Your first stop! m0rk ** FORUM RULES & FAQ - Please Read ** 1 29-01-2009 20:27


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:54.




Website © 2010 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.