Anyone with a high mileage Mark 3?

EoinM

I'm just wondering if anyone has a high-ish mileage Mark 3 and how they are finding it as the mileage rises. Any problems, dislikes, annoyances?

I have mine about 9 months and have 25k miles. I had been considering either keeping it for a few years to come rather than chop it in after a year like I usually do.

daniel575

Apr 2, 2014
I have mine 15 months and have 62k km = 38,5 k miles.

No issues at all. I'm happy with it so far. I am kind of wondering when I will be starting to run into the first issues, but I guess we'll see when the time comes.

Oh, actually I did have one minor issue: this summer, the handbrake button (and locking mechanism) suddenly broke and I had the entire handbrake replaced under warranty. Done by a Swiss dealer as I was on holiday there. No issues at all aside from that. It could be because I was used to pulling on the handbrake whilst pressing the button. The recommendation is to NOT press the button when applying the handbrake, only use it to release. But even then, that shouldn't have caused it to break like it did.

chrishale

May 31, 2010
Manchester, UK
Oh, actually I did have one minor issue: this summer, the handbrake button (and locking mechanism) suddenly broke and I had the entire handbrake replaced under warranty. Done by a Swiss dealer as I was on holiday there. No issues at all aside from that. It could be because I was used to pulling on the handbrake whilst pressing the button. The recommendation is to NOT press the button when applying the handbrake, only use it to release. But even then, that shouldn't have caused it to break like it did.

Sorry to hijack the post ;) - could I ask why it's recommended not to use the button when putting the hand brake on? I've always pressed the button as well. Probably just because I was told to as a learner driver.

daniel575

Apr 2, 2014