Just Ordered New Mk3 Cupra 280

Seastormer

Cupra Leon VZ2 300/CBF1000
Apr 25, 2014
Edinburgh (Scotland)
With modern machining methods it wont make much difference. Your car will have run in the first time the engine sparked into life!

.....i am an mechanical engineer designing aero engines with lot more horsepower than 280.

j

So why does SEAT still put a running in info bit in the owners manual about not exceeding a certain speed or revs, or labouring the engine for the first 500/1000 miles.

Last edited:

jcbmally

Started with nowt and still have most of it left.
Staff member
Dec 26, 2013
Cybertron
So why does SEAT still put a running in info bit in the owners manual about not exceeding a certain speed or revs, or labouring the engine for the first 500/1000 miles.

I agree, the request to run in is in the handbook for a reason or why bother wasting ink/paper. :confused:

Apr 15, 2009
Wolverhampton
I dont see the point, i nevere have never will. All cars I have owned are driven hard from the start they run so much better and im sure others will aggree.

matthab

Jun 16, 2010
West Midlands
I dont see the point, i nevere have never will. All cars I have owned are driven hard from the start they run so much better and im sure others will aggree.

Please send me the registrations of every car you've owned as I don't want one :whistle:.

Always follow the manufactures guidelines as when you claim On the warranty and they prove you failed to follow the guides then kiss good bye to your warranty.

Can't beleive on a £27k car you would be so stupid...

Apr 15, 2009
Wolverhampton
Would never happen, this topic as been covered so many times before so it gets a bit booring. The fact of the matter is I agree with what the other guy said modern day engines are different. If you wanna waste time driving at stupidly low speeds feel free, but there will be no difference at the end of it.

jcbmally

Started with nowt and still have most of it left.
Staff member
Dec 26, 2013