SEAT offered to buy car off me.

Fishimus

Hi guys, I'm new to this, but recently I was sent a letter to get in contact with SEAT for some form of deal. Upon contacting them they basically said they are short of SEAT approved cars and going through their system my name cropped up and they'd like to make an offer on the car (still under finance from SEAT). I was wondering if SEAT has tried to contact any body else?

Thanks F.

(My car is the 1.4 PR TDI EcoMotive on a 10 plate)

Fishimus

I thought the same thing, the sales person I spoke to said that the car would have to be taken down to the dealership to be appraised, I questioned him about any hidden catches, such as having to walk away with a new car, his reply was "as long as what we offer you is enough to cover the remaining finance you can walk away without even looking at another car"

J400uk

Jan 7, 2010
London, UK
I've heard of this sort of thing happening before, there isn't really a catch to it but nor is it a particularly special offer. They'll make an offer which may or may not be better than what you'd get selling elsewhere. You are under no obligation to purchase a new car from them should you choose to accept the offer.

Fishimus

I hadn't which is why I posted this thread questioning whether anyone else had been contacted by SEAT. I checked online to try and confirm the story of them being short of SEAT approved used cars and on the site nationwide they had 5 of the 1.4 TDI EcoMotives for sale, but then again just because that's what their advertising doesn't mean they haven't got stock that's not being advertised.

I am slightly tempted by the offer, I do want to change to an FR or Cupra. But I had it planned so that when the finance was up of my current car I'd have the NCD to cover the insurance.

m0rk

sarcasm comes free
Staff member
May 19, 2001
Clanfield, UK
If you want another SEAT, go there with a view to beat them up on price to change then...