nightflight

Mk5 Ibiza Bulb List

P1TT8ULL

Jul 3, 2010
loughton, essex
i purchased some bulbs online. fogs main and dipped all fine just worried about side lights. the description says 'e marked and road legal' and when i spoke to seller on phone he confirmed they were legal. still not to sure if they are to blue or not. driven passed a few police no probs but im sure theres a jobs worth out there waiting to pull me over and fine me. any great suggestions. cheers

dannychapman10

K04 Time ;)
Mar 30, 2009
Grimsby, UK
I'll be changing the lights on my Cupra which has Bi-Xenons, I'll pop up a guide as too how hard/easy it is, D1S bulbs, 501s etc :)
Just to clarify that the DRL's are as simple as changing the indicator bulb on the standard twin headlamp :)

Danny.

Shelby

Mar 1, 2011
West London
Hello folks,
Sorry, complete Newbie to all this, but reading the bulbs list with interest as I wouldnt mind changing a few of them around the Mk5, but I havent got a clue what CANBUS is?
Are the bulb codes in blue for LED versions?
And finally, how many reverse lights are there on the Mk5? Mine has only one, but what looks like another one on the other side, wonder if its meant to be like that or just a knackered bulb!!
Thanks
Mike

Feb 8, 2011
I can answer some of your questions....

CANBUS is a digital data bus that various components in a modern car use to communicate with one another. You can read all about it on Wikipedia. Some cars (BMW I think - maybe more) actually need special lamps that interface with the CANBUS but the Ibiza is not one of these and the lamps supplied with the car are all of the traditional type - see the manual you got with the car.

I don't know why the above list states that some of the lamps need to be CANBUS since the original ones aren't. Perhaps someone else will explain.