CHIPEX



Go Back   SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum » SEAT Model Specific Discussion Forum includes Members Projects » Arosa

Arosa Use this forum for Arosa specific topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2010, 20:39   #1
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
Seat Arosa 1.0 S warning lights

Hi all

I picked up my Seat Arosa 1.0 S yesterday, its a 2003 (53) and today after filling up with petrol the exhaust emissions light came on. I pulled over when i could and turned the car off, waited then turned it back on again. Still on, the ECU and also the airbag warning light stayed on and then went off.
Any idea what might be wrong?
It ticks over nicely, no jerking when accelerating(not noticed any from when it wasnt on) and it still revs up.
Calling up the garage tomorrow to get it booked in, which is going to be an annoyance because ive got to fit it in around work.
Anyone have an idea of what it might be? Ive searched and read abit already but non seemed to say about the airbag light and also the ECU light staying on aswell then going off. The airbag light stays on longer though.

Cheers
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 22:26   #2
Boo
The original wee beastie
 
Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 2,018
Boo has 10 points
How did you get on with the garage ?
Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 22:33   #3
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
I gave them a call and they said to take it in, but ive been at work so its not going till tomorrow.
Spoke to a few people about it and they seem to think its the lamda sensor, but its not forced to be.
Ive been driving it(because ive needed to) and its not been too bad. Its been abit hesitent to go off from traffic lights i think(ive stalled it a few times, but im still getting used to the car so not sure if thats me or something to do with the car)
Ill put up when i know more, i can hope its fixed by tomorrow but who knows.
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 22:40   #4
Boo
The original wee beastie
 
Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 2,018
Boo has 10 points
Stalling is a common issue on the Arosa's. Often caused by lamda problems so hopefully thats what it is and nothing more complicated.
Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 22:45   #5
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
Fingers crossed its just the Lamda sensor.
I noticed the stalling more because i have never really stalled lots, especially not from going off at lights. But it seems to nearly go, then just stall.
Besides this its a lovely little car i think, but it does get some mickey taking at work
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 19:30   #6
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
Speed sensor is the problem. Been plugged in and it was that. The garage reset it to see if this would work(apparently faults can come up for weird reasons and sometimes just a reset sorts it) and it did for a few miles then it came back on. Lamda sensor was checked, not that.
The garage are ordering in a new speed sensor, which will be with them soon and thats getting fitted. Hopefully that will sort it.
Speedo is working fine though(or at least i think it is Been through a few speed cameras and not seen a flash
So ill hopefully have that fixed soon and the light can stop coming on!
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 19:27   #7
DANIELP1991
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South wales
Posts: 34
DANIELP1991 has 10 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1gear View Post
Fingers crossed its just the Lamda sensor.
I noticed the stalling more because i have never really stalled lots, especially not from going off at lights. But it seems to nearly go, then just stall.
Besides this its a lovely little car i think, but it does get some mickey taking at work
the boys in work take the pee of mine aswel mate.. knobs.. lol
DANIELP1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 20:39   #8
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
Its not worked
Well, it did work for a day but now its back on!
Back in the garage on Wednesday morning for another try.
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 21:08   #9
Boo
The original wee beastie
 
Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 2,018
Boo has 10 points
EGR valve ?
Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 21:22   #10
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
What error code should it come up with for that? Apparently it came up with speed sensor.
The car doesnt seem to be running any different to what i remember. Ok its slow, but i just take it its slow because its a 1.0.
It doesnt stall on tick over or anything.
If it was the EGR valve, what would be some signs i could tell from it?
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 22:07   #11
Boo
The original wee beastie
 
Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 2,018
Boo has 10 points
Not sure what error code it comes up with. It could be a faulty MAP sensor / Blocked EGR valve or it could be a case of your car has been fitted with a Non-Seat exhaust at some point in it life.

If your car drive quality feels sluggish, slow acceleration, you occasional loss of power, emissions are high and fuel consumption is bad then this can indicate that your EGR valve needs cleaning out

If your experiencing a 'mis-fire' when the car is idle which, is not so evident in higher revs or you experience lots of stalling then it can indicate your MAP sensor is faulty.

This thread might help you a little - http://www.seatcupra.net/forums/showthread.php?t=221448

This website has a list of some codes - http://www.airbagnews.com/PDF/Fehler...%20english.pdf

Boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 22:15   #12
1gear
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
1gear has 10 points
Its got a VW exhaust on it.
Its done about 100 miles and used 1/4 of a tank of petrol(abit more but forgot to reset the clock) Thats a mix of urban and motorway/dual carriageway/country roads.
Yes, i do drive like an old woman

Ill have a look through the threads, ive looked about it before but didnt think it could be that valve.

Cheers
1gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

(View-All Members who have read this thread : 26
1gear, alex1970, ali831, Boo, bradley138, Cupra Kev, DANIELP1991, F2 Stu, Glenco, Joooe10, junkymotown, kenny_fr, lunalupi, mick-fr, mojo8472, O.N.E.H.U.N.G., Oj 89, Pabs, ramdert, russgolland, rvdbarnes, saulbrown, Sonea Fifer, toadster, TTX, umpa1
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:21.




Website © 2014 SEATCupra.net

Disclaimer: SEATCupra.net is not an official SEAT site and is not affiliated to SEAT in any way. Visit the Official SEAT Website.

SEATCupra.net are not directly responsible for information which maybe posted in this forum.
All content is viewed and used at your own risk. We do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.
The views expressed herein are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of SEATCupra.net or SEAT
All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.