Hybrid v EV driving

Sep 16, 2023
Hi,

I've recently taken delivery of a Cupra Leon (Estate VZ2 PHEV).
Very happy with it so far, but I'm also pretty new to the PHEV world so thought this would be a good place to look for advice.

I'm trying to establish the economy of driving in full EV mode VS Hybrid.
I'll use a typical example:

A couple of times a week I do a 20 mile round trip. Half of that is 20-40mph over some hilly residential roads, the other half is flat dual carriage way.
I started with the (likely misinformed) position that I'd save money by trying to drive completely in EV mode for these day-to-day trips - that's great and I've used virtually zero fuel for a month.
However, I've noticed that the vehicle charge takes a massive hit at dual carriageway speeds - it seems like it's hardly using anything, then 15% is gone.
So, for example, that 20 mile round trip might use about 75% charge.

I appreciate the hybrid Vs EV equation can get complex when you consider electricity rates and fuel prices, so I'm not looking for THE correct answer, just more info from people with more experience in this sort of thing.

In the scenario described, I'm wondering whether I'd be better off using hybrid mode - presumably that would use more of the EV power when I'm trundling down a residential street, but use less of the charge with some fuel for the higher speed stretches, so maybe I could do a couple of trips like that without charging; at the cost of the occasional fuel top up - keeping the EV only choice to times when I'm unlikely to be going above 40mph.

I've not really dug into this yet, so still need to understand things like the battery manager, which I'm working on; but any pointers on this would be really appreciated 👍

Fergoo

Jun 8, 2020
Hi,

I've recently taken delivery of a Cupra Leon (Estate VZ2 PHEV).
Very happy with it so far, but I'm also pretty new to the PHEV world so thought this would be a good place to look for advice.