Leon Cupra 0-60

dave

May 21, 2001
Scotland
Visit site
What is the true 0-60, and 30-70 time for cupra?, i can't understand how the recent review on the octavia in the autocar mag, had a faster 0-60(6.7secs) and 0-100(16.7secs), when the leon has a 6 speed gearbox and same engine.

I did notice that in autoexpress website review of octavia claimed 0-60 in 7,9 secs

can anyone shed some light on the matter please

dave

------------------

Siesta

Well i just been flicking through my mags (car mags) and pulled out Autocar. They tested (100mph race) Clio 172, 206 GTI and the 180bhp Leon.

The Leon came in at 7.4 seconds at 60mph and 19.58 when reaching 100mph.

------------------

ZBOYD

Looking up at the stars!
May 19, 2001
Cheshire
www.seatcupra.net
Well i've had it on rather good authority that the reason the Octavia posted such great times is that a certain company had been asked to fiddle with the press cars.

Now as a Leon driver i know how easy and really inexpensive especially for a car manufacturer it is to get a lot more power out of a 1.8 20VT.

I think Skoda needs the extra on paper oomph to get people interested, but i'd like to see a stock from dealership pull that kind of 0-60, id be very suprised and really like to know which bulkheads they've removed to lessesn the weight
smile.gif

The Octavia is a fine car, and Skoda will no doubt benefit from the VAG group as SEAT has, but im very dubious about these times.

Mark

------------------

ZBOYD

Looking up at the stars!
May 19, 2001
Cheshire
www.seatcupra.net
At Alconbury, Drayton the speed timing people will be present, i intend to get a definative 0-60 for my car. and if possible to 60 -100 too.
smile.gif

Just a shame we can't borrow an Octavia RS for the afternoon
biggrin.gif

------------------

Tommie

Hi, I´ve done 0-62 in 6.48s according to G-tech... and 6.72s with one passenger in.
Mods : 3" exaust from the turbo, no cat and a Direct airfilter.
Leon 1.8T 4wd...

------------------