Arona missing reverse camera guide lines

Silvain1

Dec 9, 2021
Hello,

Some months ago I bought a Seat Arona without a reverse camera.
So I bought one from the Seat shop and let the Seat garage install it.
I tested it and it worked, but didn't payed attention to the lines.
A day later when reversing I noticed it. So I contacted the garage.
They said that the lines arent possible on my Model if you install the camera afterwards.
Is that true? Because even €10 camera's from Aliexpress have lines and on the Website from Seat it also says it is a camera with lines.
Is it the camera's fault or they need to activate it on obs2?
I have the Seat Arona FR Launch Edition from 2018.

Thank you,
Silvain

Tell

Staff member
You would think it's generated in the infotainment system rather than within the camera.... saying that this thread for a VW names three different types of cameras:

Can't say I'm an expert on reversing cameras, mine work on the Ateca and bend, not sure on the Arona will look tomorrow. I have read on threads here people talking about high line retrofit cameras, think it might have been the boards retrofitter sponsor that did someone's.

Here's a Google I've constructed for you:

There are those three types of cameras. Says that the bend lines ones need calibrating if post fitted.

I've got 360 on my Ateca, bees knees. I'll see what the Arona 2019 Xcellence Lux factory fitted ones do, tomorrow.

Reactions: Silvain1

jcbmally

Started with nowt and still have most of it left.
Staff member
Dec 26, 2013
Cybertron
I got Seat to fit a camera to the wife’s Ibiza FR Sport, no grid lines but wife said better than nothing. One thing I will say is the picture quality is top notch, better than my Formentor.

Reactions: Silvain1 and Tell

Tell

Staff member
What the 2019 Arona Xcellence Lux looks like. Line doesn't bend with wheel. (the car image on the left is the full ultrasound view which the Arona Xcellence Lux also supports)
20211210_122517.jpg

Last edited:

Tell