colour coding rub strips and tinted headlight covers

michaelg1001

B5 S4 Avant
Jun 24, 2008
Sheffield
hey im thinking about colur coding my rub strips on the doors and bumpers, since im a student and im tight getting them done proffesionally is out of the window, and il do them myself. which is the easiest way to paint them? mask the side of the car off or take them off to paint?

also i quite like the idea of tinting my headlight protectors (i may of had a little inspiration off here) whats the best way to do them and how dark to have them? cos iv just got standard bulbs atm and cant see a HID kit on the horizon anytime soon

cheers

kewe

Jun 20, 2001
Edinburgh
Visit site
I've heard, but cannot confirm, the strips are glued on and may well snap or damage when you try to remove them. Best Bet would be to mask and spray while still on the car
otherwise you're looking at a new set from the dealer then spraying them before fitting.

Feb 26, 2009
Wolverhampton
I've heard, but cannot confirm, the strips are glued on and may well snap or damage when you try to remove them. Best Bet would be to mask and spray while still on the car
otherwise you're looking at a new set from the dealer then spraying them before fitting.

I removed the bump strips off my old Cavalier, and they had a metal reinforcement inside them that got completely screwed as it was taken off. There was no way they were going back on!!

But I do like the look of a car without bump strips, might be an easier option rather than trying to colour code them? You'd still have to do the bumper strips though.

Don't forget, even the best colour in the world won't get a perfect match, as you're trying to match painted plastic to painted metal.