Lack of Power?

Nov 23, 2022
Hello,
I am just creating this post to confirm that nothing is wrong with my car... since I am a beginner.
Basically, I don't have any issues, but at low revs, it seems that car is lacking some power/torque. People who tried my car say that they feel it, based on their previous experience.

Can anyone with Seat Leon 2010-12 77kw(105hp) 1.6 TDI confirm that car struggles (vibrates) if changing gears too quickly:
2nd gear before 20km/h,
3rd gear before 40km/h,
4th gear before 60km/h,
5th gear before 80km/h,
even though board computer asks for a gear change before that.

Ninjakebab

Apr 12, 2022
That's a lot of struggle for a diesel, considering that those should be kinda high revs. Those look more like gasoline range shifts.
Sounds weird. At least your engine seems to be one that can gain 20-30HP from a little optimisation at a tuner.

Can't say anything more, since I don't have a Leon or a diesel.

Reactions: darkomtc
Nov 23, 2022
That is actually really low rev... Values mentioned above are all around 1400-1500rpm, and there's no problem with driving. Anything below that is with a lot of vibrations. 1300rpm is kinda bearable, if I'm alone in the car (less weight), but still has "struggling/stalling" sound.

I have already chiptuned it to 140hp. It did gain a lot of power at the top end, but 1400rpm and below vibrations still remain.

Ninjakebab

Apr 12, 2022
Did you get a readout of the dyno? That should show you on paper what is going on at those revs.
Diesels do have a large torque falloff as soon as you go below 1500 ish

R3k1355

Oct 30, 2014
Yorkshire
What is this chiptune that you refer to?

If it's one of those plug in boxes, then it's probably causing your problems.

Hello!