Oil change

OJ9693

Mk3 Leon FR 150
Sep 2, 2019
Embarrassed to say i've never done an oil change on my own car before, or anybody elses car as a matter of fact. Oil change notification in 200 miles is now on my dash. I saw recently a post on here saying that there's a different way to change the oil on a 1.4 TSI ACT 150? as to normally.

Was tempted to give it a go myself but seeing this made me slightly concerned i might do something wrong. Can anybody shed some light on this?

Even though i've got a house and car insurance to pay for this week i'm considering just paying a garage to carry it out for me should i not feel confident, how much should it cost roughly? of course it varies where you're located bla bla bla.

any advice/help is greatly appreciated.

Titchy

Jun 10, 2017
Buckinghamshire
Last edited:
Reactions: OJ9693

BillyCool

Jan 16, 2020
Leicestershire, UK
Embarrassed to say i've never done an oil change on my own car before, or anybody elses car as a matter of fact. Oil change notification in 200 miles is now on my dash. I saw recently a post on here saying that there's a different way to change the oil on a 1.4 TSI ACT 150? as to normally.

Was tempted to give it a go myself but seeing this made me slightly concerned i might do something wrong. Can anybody shed some light on this?

Even though i've got a house and car insurance to pay for this week i'm considering just paying a garage to carry it out for me should i not feel confident, how much should it cost roughly? of course it varies where you're located bla bla bla.

any advice/help is greatly appreciated.

That 2nd link that Titchy posted is really good and it is soooo much easier than the TDI. The oil filter is actually ON TOP of the engine, where you can get to it!

On the TDI you have to get to it from under the car and it's a pain. I change my oil and filter every 5,000 miles, so I'm getting used to it.