TCS Expination for a complete newbie

schnipps

Apr 17, 2006
Hi, on my FR it obviously has the TCS button, I dont really have a clue what it does. I know what it stands for butam just a bit lost as to why its needed on a 150bhp car. Is the car quicker straight line with it off? Just after a plebs guid to TCS really. Cheers

CupraUK

Pushing on
Aug 15, 2005
Bedfordshire
Don't know about the FR but the TCS in my cupra just kills in the power when it senses wheel spin. Its totally rubbish and can result in you losing all acceleration when trying to get across a roundabout when someone comes flying round.

I switch if off the second I turn the key, rain or shine.

MarkE

Acceptable in the 80s
Jul 20, 2003
Lancaster
www.markeaston.org
Picture the scene :

You're coming off a wet roundabout and you put your foot down. The inside front wheel spins up as it's unloaded so the car drifts out towards the Isuzu Trooper going the other way down the road. The TCS kills the power, your car pulls back into line and you continue down the road, unhindered by Isuzu Troopers in your face. All is good.

CupraUK

Pushing on
Aug 15, 2005
Bedfordshire
I powerslide all the time in the wet, I still think I can do a much better job than the crappy system. If it were something clever like the 4 wheel stuff in the Skyline then I'd have some faith in it.

If I've got understeer then I want power to get me out of it.

CupraSteve

Feb 3, 2006
CupraUK said:
Don't know about the FR but the TCS in my cupra just kills in the power when it senses wheel spin. Its totally rubbish and can result in you losing all acceleration when trying to get across a roundabout when someone comes flying round.

I switch if off the second I turn the key, rain or shine.

same same same

only ever used it in the snow

StuLCR52

MK1 LCR project….
Sep 11, 2005
Hampshire (formally Lisburn NI)