Window Tinting?

excaliber20vT

Im a professional vinyl graphics guy and want to look at tinting my windows, now i can do this myself no problems, i want a all round
(apart from screen!) tint, lokking at 35% buy 20% looks a lot nicer!

does anyone know the laws in uk for this or is it all illegal?

:)

:doh:

Last edited by a moderator:

Jimski

Back to the fold!
Nov 3, 2007
Staffs
30% would be the limit surely? And maybe even then, dependent on the film, these may be illegal and you will be require to remove the tint there and then!

Leon front windows are slightly tinted anyway, tinting the rear would obvious reduce the light intake and make the inside darker anyway.

Save your pennies man....

Jimski

joey_b

the standard tint on your front windows are on the legal limits, any other tint added to the fronts will become illegal. the windows behind the "b" pillar can be as dark as you like, as said above just tint the back and it will create a shadow in the car making it darker.:)

edmong

GHE Tuning
Aug 15, 2007
Plymouth, Devon
Like above your side windows must allow 70% of light through, a 25-30% tint allows 25-30% of light through. The Leon windows, standard, allow 76% through so any tint will render them illegal.

At the side of the road, I would use a Tint Man and if the windows where restricting the light by less than 45% you would recieve a prohibition and the tints would need to be removed. If the Police stopped you and the tint was restricting the light by more than 30% they can prosecute for fitment of dangerous parts which you can loose your licence for.

Also as the front windows are tinted and you are involved in an accident regardless of whos fault it was, your insurance will not pay out.

Anyway, if your driving a nice motor you want people to see you!

You would not wear sunglasses at night would you, so why tint the fronts?

simpa

so whats your opion guys cause i was thinking of doing mine (not my front window ) just a medium shade i was thinking