Lost all drive

italianstallion

Jul 6, 2009
Was driving along a dual carriageway when all of a sudden all power to the accelerator just vanished. Managed to pull up onto a side road where i then realised a dense white smoke coming out of the exhaust pipes. immediately turned the car engine off. Now the the car wont even start.

Any ideas to what this could be.The car has recently been asking for the engine coolant to be topped up more than usual which i found very strange considering the car is only driven locally.

Please help, need some advice

Shadders

Apr 14, 2009
Sandy
I'm no mechanic but have seen threads on here talking about cracked heads. This may explain the white smoke & the need to top up coolant.

Worth do a search & getting more opinions before trying to start again.

Hope it's not to bad!!

italianstallion

Jul 6, 2009
Thanks for that shadders,
That has been the main thing that has been brought up again and again to what it could be by others ive mentioned it to outside of this site..

I'll wait abit longer and see if i get any other replies to this thread.
will also look up on the Cracked heads threads

Mar 30, 2008
Edinburgh
wow, where did this happen? i spotted an orange FR parked in a lay-by of the A8 dual-carriageway section near edinburgh airport, just past the BP petrol startion west bound. looked like it was broken down, when i drove past as 2 occupants were standing next to the car.

Hope this gets sorted for you asap. it must be gut wrenching when your pride and joy breaks down. but, on the bright side it's probably covered under warranty if it's a fairly new car.

Btw, what engine is in your car?

italianstallion

Jul 6, 2009
The engine is the 2.0 TDi, happened in Manchester....
I check the oil every week as the dealerships say these cars burn oil very fast. However its only done 5000miles since its last service.All local mileage, i.e school runs, shopping etc....