Buying used from a dealer- what sort of discount did you get

Stringman

Dec 23, 2021
So I am in the market for a 19 reg leon estate 2.0tsi xcellence lux.
They seem to be in the region of £18,000 to 19,500.

I have seen one local to me - 19 reg 27000 mile ( so a little high) for £18500.
Salesman was right out of the 90s, really arrogant and cocky (and very sexist to his female assistance in her first week!)
didnt even know that traffic jam assist was a thing ( " and Ive been selling Seats for twenty years!") so I dont really want to buy from him but its in the price range.

What sort of price do you think I should aim for? He wont take my car as px because its an 11 reg diesel so its either a cash deal or on finance - IF I can pay it back without any charges after 3 months.

So, if you can, tell be you best bartering tips and what sort of price you got to pay?

Thanks in advance

Mikeyd1

Jul 14, 2022
Go for 500 off and he probably meet you in the middle. Me personally would try to get more off but in this Wierd car shortage they will probably stand firmer. Or if you going finance for example he’s say it’s 360 a month for 5 years I would say the best I can do is 330 for 5 years and go from there , they earn money from finance deals so they usually a bit more willing.

SRGTD

May 26, 2014
In the current car market, don’t be surprised if you don’t get any discount 😮.

Over the last couple of years, relatively few new cars have been built because of supply chain issues, and there are very long wait times for new cars to be built (12 months or longer isn’t unusual). This has meant some customers have switched to buying newer, used examples rather than buying brand new. As a result, demand for good quality newer used cars has often exceeded supply, which puts sellers in a strong position and gives them the upper hand if they know they‘d be able to sell certain desirable models many times over at the screen price.