MK 3 Leon 1.8 SC Manual....MPG?

Tally

Hi Folks

Im a newbie, so go easy on me.:)

Only had my 63 plate Leon 1.8 SC FR for a few weeks & its the first Seat I have owned so still getting to grips with it but loving it so far.

Just wondered what mpg other owners were getting?

I do a lot of town driving so with the stop/start option on & car set in eco mode I seem to be averaging around the 29 mpg figure.

Does that seem about right?

Also I left the fuel level drop until the low fuel warning sounded & when I filled up (to brim) it took 49 litres...I thought it only held 50 litres. Does that mean I only have 1 litre left in the tank when the warning sounded?

Thanks in advance for any advice etc

phil750

Jul 24, 2012
I do alot of town driving - 9 mile trip to work is probably half through normal 30 roads then onto 60 dual carriages with a lot of roundabouts to slow down for! In eco mode
and i average around 39mpg.
It did take a few weeks to bed in though, so bare with it!

I do only fill up with the premium fuels though.

Last edited:

Tally

Thanks for the info Phil.

Blimey I'm a bit concerned here...the mileage on my car is nearly 7k (not sure what your mileage is) but you are averaging 10 mpg more than me, do you think my car may have a problem?

It seems to run very nicely etc & only used Esso standard unleaded since I have had it.

Last edited by a moderator:

phil750

Jul 24, 2012
mines on about 7.5k at the minute.
It does depend so much on your journey and your driving style, i tend to stay in higher
gears which is better for fuel consuption. The petrol itself can add a few mpg.
What do you average on a motorway journey at 70?

Tally

Ive just gone from a 2.2 SR180 Diesel Auris & maybe my driving style could be a factor.

I always thought changing up the gears at low revs & getting into the highest gear as soon as possible gives you the best mpg but maybe its time I altered my driving style etc.