Whine in 3rd gear?

joey_999

hi bought my car about a month ago its a 03 leon cupra with 6speed box, when changing down gear into 3rd or when in 3rd not accelerating im getting a loud whiring sound coming from the gear box any ideas wot it could b?

I think it may b a bearing, as im new to the vag seen is their n e common problems?

cheers joe

2footpegs

Jan 17, 2009
anyone????? because ive got the same thing with my 53plate LCR but the sounds not that loud

matylad

Nov 24, 2005
Crewe, Cheshire
I’ve got the same type of noise / symptoms on my 53 plate LCR. I'm thinking of giving the gearbox fluid a change. Can’t see that it'll fix it but you never know. Cold gear changes make a 'clunking' type noise. I also noticed last night that when depressing and raising the clutch you can hear a very similar clunking noise. Had to have the passenger window open to hear it.

My thoughts were that it could be something on the clutch. Maybe the release bearing??? Don’t know if this could cause the whirring / woo woo woo woo woo / bearing noise when driving at slower speeds. Bearings all feel nice and smooth with no resistance. Another suggestion was that the tyres were the problem. You can feel that the inner tread blocks are stepped. I’ve got the Falken 452s on the moment.

Not a great deal of help but thought id chip in.

steve_p

Genesis Nut
May 3, 2008
I had this exact problem with my LCR.
Ended up costing me just short of £1k for a gearbox refurb :cry:
Bearings on 2/3rd were supposedly on their way out.
I was told it was probably due to me being a bit harsh when changing down a gear or so under braking for corners etc.

The refurb fixed the problem for just under a year when it started to come back.

Went back under warranty and had it looked at again.
This time they said it was a 'circlip' thingy that was bent over at it's outer edge causing similar symptoms. Again caused by changing down the gears under braking or before braking/cornering.