Replacing rear wheel bearing

nightflight

May 18, 2009
Sheffield
If I've understood it correctly, the Ibiza doesn't have a separate bearing and hub, and instead has an integrated bearing/hub assembly.
So now my rear bearing is gone I need to buy a new assembly, undo the bolts from the old one, replace and tighten it all up again (also removing brakes etc that are in the way...)
I don't need a15t press to get the old bearing out/new one in and in theory, with a bit of patience and enough force to undo the bolts it's a DIY job?

SEAT want £108 for the bearing, or £250 for fitted.
A hub assembly is about £50 on eBay, so if it's something that can be done myself on my drive I'd rather save the money!
I'm not really a mechanic-y person, but I can follow instructions and have a modicum of common sense.

DEAN0

Old Git
Feb 1, 2006
Preston - UK
Rears are VERY easy to do on the drive/in the garage.

There is no pressing of any bearings at all - the hub arrives with the bearings and ABS sensor ring already fitted.

You will need a 12 spline socket ( i think its a 32mm 12 spline but check first )

Jack up car
Remove wheel ( 5 bolts )
Remove brake caliper & carrier ( 4 bolts )
Remove hub nut cap and remove hub nut ( I beleive they are once only use so you need a new one )
Remove hub/bearing assembly

Put new hub/braring assembly on stub axle
Replace and torque up the hub nut
Replace hub nut cap
Replace caliper/carrier
Replace wheel
Lower car

Check brakes

Go for drive.

nightflight

May 18, 2009
Sheffield
I think I can stretch to that, and with the saving I can treat myself to the set of axle stands I've been eyeing up to do the job with.

Deleted member 62899

with only 17 fuel ups cant be to many miles,
I'm on 63 fuel ups & nearly 30k miles.
surely something is wrong.

DEAN0

Old Git
Feb 1, 2006
Preston - UK
Haven't updated fuelly in ages.
I'm on 42.5k

Sounds low for wheel bearings to be going.

What state are your rear tyres in ?