Koni/Eibach or FK High Tec?

adaml

Jan 7, 2004
Leeds
Visit site
...for post MY03 Leon Cupra

Been researching this for a couple of weeks - I think I've read most of the Leon related suspension threads from the last 2 years but I need a bit o' help!

Prime motivation is improving the handling - get rid of that bounce and wallow. A nice subtle drop is good too but is not the main reason.

I'm new to aftermarket suspension and I'm a bit worried about some of the appalling roads in West Yorkshire and also bottoming out on speed bumps. Also getting on and off future in-laws' drive, but that can be sorted with a couple of planks :D

FK - 35-40mm drop, £233 from performancedriven.
Koni/Eibach - 25 ish mm drop. From Larkspeed £350 for the Koni kit, £159 for the Eibach springs and then sell on the koni springs, or someone said they might swap round the springs for a bit more cash. Seems a bit of a faff - does nobody sell them as a kit online?

There's a decent mechanic I've been going to for years who will fit it for about £70 and then have the alignment sorted.

My question really is: FK wins on price and convenience, but is it as good and will 40mm be too much drop? Has anybody tried both the above?

Cheers

Steve

Cross member
May 10, 2001
Bournemouth, Dorset
www.8valves.co.uk
I am interested in this too and am weighing up the same 2 options. I want to stiffen the car up a bit for a few track days but I also don't want to worsen the ride.

I'd like the car to look lower but not overly so (the Bilstein kit on my 8v Ibiza was too low). If it only looked lower to those in the know I would be happy.

I am tempted with the FK kit based on the price.

Are the springs that come with the Koni kit crap then?

adaml

Jan 7, 2004
Leeds
Visit site
Steve said:
I am interested in this too and am weighing up the same 2 options. I want to stiffen the car up a bit for a few track days but I also don't want to worsen the ride.