2006 Seat Leon FR TDI - Slow Acceleration Under 2K Revs & Other Issues - Please Help!

ak104956

Oct 6, 2016
Hi,

I am having some issues with my car, a 2006 Seat Leon FR TDI

I am hoping you guys will be able to give me some advice on what I'm experiencing and whether it's the same on other Leon FR's or not...

so...

Number 1:
I get vibration when setting off in first gear and reverse gear, if I rev really high before setting off then there's no vibration

Number 2:
The car seems to be stalling quite a bit when setting off in first gear unless i rev quite a bit before lifting clutch - never had to do in other cars that I've driven before, I have previously owned a 2002 Seat Leon mk1 TDI which I also had remapped and driven a few other diesels too (VW Golfs, Bora etc) so I have plenty of experience driving diesel cars and not faced this problem before

Number 3:
The biting point on the cluth is quite high up through the clutch release movement - I prefer when the clutch bites straight away, not at the top of motion.
Having the biting point at the bottom makes driving more fun and efficient as it's quicker to set off and change gears to reach higher speeds faster and just feels better overall, this is how my other Leon was too, biting as soon as I'd lift the clutch

Number 4:
I experience quite slow acceleration between 0-2000 revs, above 2k revs all the power seems to kick in and it pulls nicely but when it's below 2k revs, feels a bit laggy, even with my foot fully on the accelerator/gas, all the power only kicks in when it's gone above 2k revs.
I'm not sure if this is just me expecting a car that's supposed to be around 215bhp (accordding to Jamie Kilner of K-tune when he remapped it) to feel a lot quicker or if it's normal for it to be like this (all the cars I've driven before were 140bhp or less)

Notes:
The car was remapped by K-tune (Jamie Kilner)
I've recently changed the fuel filter, oil filter, engine oil and air filter