Heater/Fans all mouth no trousers in 2006 Ibiza 1.9 TDi FR

Me²

Newbie²
Dec 29, 2014
Manchester
Right, I'm new here and I'm new to the car, having just bought it a week ago; it's a 2006 1.9 TDI FR.

I've had a search though this forum (worth looking in he MK3 forum too?) and although I've found several similar threads, there's nothing quite precise enough to give me enough confidence that I feel like I've somewhere to start with a problem I've got - the heater/fans - so I've decided with some hesitation to start this new thread.

The control panel for the heading/fans is the one with fan speed dial on the left, the display in the middle and the temperature dial on the right. The buttons across the bottom start with window symbol on the left and the recirculate (I think) button far right and include an Auto and ECON option. Hopefully that should be enough to identify the system if there's any doubt.

Basically, what I've got is an all mouth no trousers kind of issue, the fans sound like they're turning on and off and changing speed depending on what option I press, everything sounds like it's adjusting depending on what I set on the controls just fine - however - regardless of what options I've set - I'm getting very little airflow out of the x4 vents facing me on the dash and similar with those under the windscreen. Quite pathetic actually.

I've gathered some information from several of the threads on here which tell me various parts of the fan including the motor sit behind the glove box - this is where all the sound it coming from when I play with the fan/heat options so if I was to take a guess based on what I can hear and what I can feel I'd say the motor seems to be fine but something isn't quite right regarding either a) the fact it isn't getting any air to work with or b) what its doing/where its sending the air once its got it, as it certainly doesn't appear to be to the vents.