Induction kits and exhaust

Jun 2, 2023
Good afternoon gents
I'm new to the diesel world so after some advice really.
What is the best induction kit and exhaust to put on my fr550.
It's a 2.0 tdi and I'm after a nice whistling and nice note from the exhaust.
Just wondering what people have gone for to achieve anything like this.
Don't want it loud don't want pops and bangs I just want a nice subtle hum from the engine and exhaust.
Any advice or suggestions would be great
Thanks as always matt

H Rafiq

Jan 5, 2022
I have this setup on my mk3 Leon Cupra. APR intake, Ramair elbow and hose. Not loud at all. Slight noise when lifting off, that’s it.
IMG_2755.jpeg

TripleBob

May 3, 2021
Good afternoon gents
I'm new to the diesel world so after some advice really.
What is the best induction kit and exhaust to put on my fr550.
It's a 2.0 tdi and I'm after a nice whistling and nice note from the exhaust.
Just wondering what people have gone for to achieve anything like this.
Don't want it loud don't want pops and bangs I just want a nice subtle hum from the engine and exhaust.
Any advice or suggestions would be great
Thanks as always matt
Unfortunately being a TDI you'll never get a nice note from the exhaust - the DPF suppresses what little note it might be capable of making. Only solutions are remove the DPF (instant MOT fail), or install a sound generator kit (approx £1800) that uses a speaker to make fake sounds.

Intake noise you can definitely do though to a point.
Again being a diesel there is absolutely zero benefit from forcing extra cold air in - the stock airbox is more than capable of feeding it enough air for 300hp+ - so don't expect a bhp boost, but by swapping to an open air system you'll get more wooshing noises and maybe hear some more turbo whine.