Reversing light. Seat Ibiza. Fr Sport Tsi. 1 litre.

Oct 27, 2020
The reversing light on this recently bought ex-dmonstrator is not fit for purpose. (This was not noticed until the first time I had to park at night, several days after purchase.)

QUESTIONS:-
1) Should this model have reversing lights both sides? (Mine appears to be only LHS).
2) Is/are the reversing light/s on this model known to be pathetic?
3) If so, is there a simple solution?

(I'm new to this version of the forum - If the above are already fully answered elsewhere, please re-dirct me)
Thanks
PW

SRGTD

May 26, 2014
The reversing light on this recently bought ex-dmonstrator is not fit for purpose. (This was not noticed until the first time I had to park at night, several days after purchase.)

The primary function of a reversing light is to make others aware of your intention to reverse, so if a single halogen reversing light does that, then the car manufacturer‘s view no doubt will be that it is fit for purpose. If manufacturers can get away with installing just one reversing light - and one that’s not particularly bright - so they can save a few pence, then IMO they will. However, I totally agree that they’re pretty essential if you need to reverse at night in an area with no street lighting (I do frequently as there are no street lights where I live).

Until you find a suitable LED replacement for the factory fitted bulb, maybe you could put your hazard warning lights on when reversing, as they will give you some additional rearward illumination.

My VW has two reversing lights (halogen). I also have a reversing camera and the number plate lights are LED so I consider myself quite fortunate. The combination of two reversing lights and two number plate lights provide quite good illumination, and the reversing camera image on the infotainment screen is quite bright, making night time reversing manoeuvres relatively easy.

Hope you find a suitable LED replacement.

Seriously?

Apr 20, 2018