Went shopping yesterday...

agynjo

Morning all - newbie here :)

I've fancied an Altea for some time now, but didn't get round to driving one until yesterday. So, I popped into a dealer and test drove their ex-demonstrators.

1st car was a 05 plate 2.0 TDi sport in Platinum Grey with 17" alloys and barely run in. Really liked the look of the car, although it was a bit cheap in places (rusting hubs, cheap plastics inside). But overall it felt great - big, spacious, nice ride, snickety gearchange, and the engine had sooo much grunt. I can't believe the car is only group 8 insurance.

Next up was a similar car, but in Tinta Black and DSG box. It had done a few more miles, but you would never have known. It was my first experience of DSG, and it's an impressive bit of kit. I had a play with changing gears manually, and as novel as it was to feel like a mini-touring car racer, in practice I'd probably leave it in auto mode.

In the end, I felt the gearchange of the manual car was more than nice enough to live with, so I bought that one (plus it was 1k cheaper). Hope to pick up later this week. Can't wait......

Interested to read the thread about changing speakers - will have to see how bad they are before taking the plunge myself. From what I've read it seems you can change all four speaker without removing the complete door panels. Is this correct ?

Does anyone else have rusty hubs ? Is there anything that can be done ? The 17" wheels probably don't help I guess....

Later :whistle:

klawit

ALTEA 1.4 TSI 4YOU (my2015)
Oct 13, 2005
Germany, Cologne-Area
agynjo said:
Interested to read the thread about changing speakers - will have to see how bad they are before taking the plunge myself. From what I've read it seems you can change all four speaker without removing the complete door panels. Is this correct ?
Hi & congratulations :)
you probably mean this particular thread => Speakers for ALTEA ?