What more can go wrong ???

kernboy

I'm new to all this so please be patient ;)

I have a 2008 Seat Altea XL for a few years which has started to die slowly on me.
Three things have gone over the last month.

1) The AC control -The fan only came on at position 4 for a week then it stopped altogether.
2) The front passenger window started making a noise and now won't go up or down.
3) The ESP warning light is on continually...

I brought the car to a mechanic who has told me the window needs a new regulator as does the fan control.
I've to bring the car back to investigate the ESP fault again with further diagnostics, I'll leave that to him to sort out. :confused:

Now I've had a read on this forum and others and it sounds like the windows could be fixed with new guide wires but I'd like to see if I could DIY it myself (I work in IT, I don't like not really knowing what's broken), if its a new regulator or guide wires then I wouldn't mind giving it a try. The only problem is I can't find diagrams of how to get the door panel off to take a look, is the only way to get one to pay for a manual ? :blink:

The mechanic replaced the fan regulator with a second hand one he had but it's starting to show signs of problems so I may just need to buy a new one instead but again I wouldn't mind trying to fit it myself.

Can anyone give me a bit of advice on the windows and fan issues and possibly point me in the right direction for diagrams of how to get stuck in ?

I did find a post on here, "Removing MK5 Ibiza front door trim", which someone suggested could be used on the Altea but I haven't had the chance to take a look at it in detail yet.

Any help would be great.
Thanks Kevin

PhilOfCas

Nov 2, 2006
The capital of Yorkshire
Welcome :D