EPC Light / Won’t start

Mar 15, 2023
Hi all, I’ve just serviced my mk1 2005 cupra R 225 and after service the EPC light came on and car wouldn’t start. Then after few times trying it fired up, later last night a few hours after service it cut out on my and wouldn’t start again, now it’s on and off if it will start on me, a coil pack went down so I replaced that, but seems to keep bringing up EPC light and cad also has a boost cut / surge in 2nd and 3rd at around 3.5-4k revs, I’m new to 20Vt can anyone help, thankyou

Mar 15, 2023
EPC light should throw a fault code if you get a reader.

Similar symptoms for me was the crankshaft sensor (get a proper Bosch one if your fault code indicates it's the problem)
Yes mate It threw a throttle control fault up I got the code and it came back to crank sensor think it was g28, I’ll get one and try it thanks for your reply 👍🏼👍🏼

Mar 15, 2023
Nice one. It's weird when it goes because it tends to start up when cold but not when warm.
Yes 100% what it did I fired it up today at 4am -2 outside let it warm up did 6 miles on motorway to work turned it off to open the gates then it wouldn’t fire again🤦🏼‍♂️

mph

Jan 6, 2003
Liverpool
I think I have the same symptoms as decribed here...

I'm stuck in traffic when suddenly the engine cuts out and the battery light comes on. I try to start the ignition and nothing, no turnover. I wait 10 secs and try again, this time after a bit of splutter it starts up. When I drive on I notice a lack of power in the high revs, as if there's a limiter on, then suddenly the EPC light comes on.