Altea Newbie here - Help needed please! oh pretty please...

astroboy

Hi all,

I’m a total newbie to this forum but I’ve been using as a form of research and answers for a long time now.

I admittedly put my hand up and say that I have no experience working on diesels (although I’ve been driving one for the last 5 years) but I’ve come to a point where I do need help from the experienced Seat boys! So any help / advice would be greatly appreciated.

My daily drive is the Seat Altea, it’s a 54 Reg, 1.9tdi PD105. I bought it in 2009 (55k) and it’s been legendary. Frequent drives to Scotland and the odd trip across to the continent and a drive every weekend that covered 300 odd miles. It has never skipped a beat until September last year where the water pumped seized 120k. It’s currently sitting on 130k. I had the cambelt and waterpump changed bang on at 70k. It’s had regular services and I make sure it get decent oil.

Anyhow, I was driving towards the east coast (norfolk) where I had to overtake a slow moving but long lorry that was going 40mph in a 50. As I over took, I changed down from 5th to 4th to make use of the turbo’s boost. Suddenly the power cut out on everything but I just managed to overtake and roll the car to a petrol 150 meters away.

I lifted up the bonnet and checked underneath and it smelt like bad burning rubber. I lifted the plastic cover and smell was coming from the left hand side. I lifted the cambelt cover and it stank but I couldn’t see what was wrong. I called the AA and they confirmed with those dreaded words, ‘the cambelt has snapped’. I was gutted, not only because I knew that it was bad news but because I didn’t want this to be the end of my long distance car.