another tyres thread but more!

leonfr170

Jun 16, 2007
as my front tyres need changing soon im looking at the dunlop sp sport 9000s and also the goodyear eagle f1 gsd3. has anyone here got either of these tyres and what do they think of them? both i can get for under £100 each and thats my budget really, if there is anything else people care to reccomend then go for it (need rim protection as a must though).
on top of that my front brake discs are getting a bit low and will need changing soon also - i've never been overly impressed with the brakes so was wondering what to consider as an upgrade which won't brake the bank?
cheers guys, have to say this forum rocks for real life opinions - the stealers told me the goodyears were crap and noisy which i knew is bollox as i had some on a bmw and loved them (although maybe different cars respond differently, im no expert)

Tam

Santa in disguise :)
Feb 10, 2005
Near Reevo :)
GSD3's have been replaced with "Goodyear Asymetric" beats the GSD3's in all the mag tests, so well worth going for ...

Dunlops I have always found poor until the last 3mm or so - then they are wicked (in the dry!)

Tam

Santa in disguise :)
Feb 10, 2005
Near Reevo :)
As for brakes, not sure what the cost is ... but in the Cupra I drove the other week i kept hitting me head on the windscreen every time I went near the middle peddle :lol:

leviathan18

Jan 30, 2007
Venezuela, Caracas
eagles are crap sorry to say this

i had in a civic

dunlop 9000 nice tyres
eagles f1 crap
pirelli pzero rosso awesome tyre
and bfgoodrich gforce tyres awesome tyre

mrcoyote

See no evil...
Jul 26, 2004
There's a major complaint from the Focus ST people about the Goodyear Asymetrics, which were fitted as standard, in that the sidewalls tended to be quite soft and prone to splitting so bear that in mind. They may have come higher in short term tests, but when you have to live with and pay for them, the story may be slightly different.

andycupra

status subject to change