Apple CarPlay and data usage

Nov 7, 2020
I have never tried Apple CarPlay before now, so it's a new world for me, and I'm not quite sure how it works regarding data usage. I have connected it wirelessly, and it plays music through the cars speakers, so it works fine. The infotainment system say that it's setup as a hotspot and have 1 user connected, that's my phone. When i then play music using CarPlay from my phone, does it so use data from my phone sim or from the cars esim? And does the esim in the car have unlimited data usage?

Educated Scruff

Nov 19, 2020
I use Android Auto and if I am playing music stored on your phone then only normal phone data usage I.e data for email etc, but if I stream music from another party I.e Qobuz, deezer etc than phones data usage for streaming downloads. Also obviously using the phones maps etc is also fairly heavy data usage.
I would imagine iPhone would be the same.

Last edited:
Nov 7, 2020
Sorry, I was not clear in my question, the music is not locally om my phone, it’s streaming download. So normally when I’m away from my houses wifi, the phone use it’s own sim card for the data usage, but I’m not sure if it instead use the cars esim for datausage when I stream the music using CarPlay, is it the car or my phone that make the stream download from the music supplier?

dan555

Sep 29, 2020
I'm know expert on carplay, but if your phone is connected to WiFi (either home or in car) then it would use the WiFi for internet access. I'm not sure how apple phones work but it might use it's own 4G if the WiFi network it's connected to has no internet access(ie you have no data plan for Esim). I have seen a setting for this in some android phones.

The Esim does require a data plan from cubic telecom to provide internet access on the hotspot (at least it does in the UK)