Buying an FR TDI - Things to look for?

seat_rich

Five atoms
Jul 29, 2009
As the title really, I'm currently looking at a ~ 70,000mi FR TDi on a 54 plate, around the £5k mark.

What should I be on the lookout for?

The only thing I know about is the cambelt change, but other than that I'm a complete novice at giving a used car the once over!

st10587

i only brake for cake!!!!
Oct 4, 2007
Hindhead
have a look in the FAQ section as there is a thread on the common problems/things to look for

seat_rich

Five atoms
Jul 29, 2009
have a look in the FAQ section as there is a thread on the common problems/things to look for

I've read that, so I'm aware of the things that might go wrong, I'm more thinking about things to look for / test on the actual test drive itself.

Obviously I'll do the whole 'making sure every switch/control/dial/feature' works, but as an example, if I was buying an ST, I'd make sure to listen for a clicking driveshaft whilst taking up load.

Is there a similar 'test drive' list for the Ibiza?

st10587

Oct 4, 2007
Hindhead
make sure the clutch is not slipping when underload, knocking suspension mounts, make sure its pulling in every gear and check for excessive smoke, check for full service history.

seat_rich

Five atoms
Jul 29, 2009
make sure the clutch is not slipping when underload, knocking suspension mounts, make sure its pulling in every gear and check for excessive smoke, check for full service history.

That's great, much appreciated!

PS Can you remove the link to your car from your sig? It's already tempting me to start modding and I haven't even bought it yet :D

EDIT: How would I recognise knocking suspension mounts, or is it just a really obvious knocking?

Last edited:

st10587

Oct 4, 2007
Hindhead
That's great, much appreciated!

PS Can you remove the link to your car from your sig? It's already tempting me to start modding and I haven't even bought it yet :D