• Hi Guest why not show off your SEAT! (now fixed)
    You can now share your favourite car photos in the new media gallery including embedding pictures from your Instagram account.
  • We're live with the new site! Please let us know what you think in this thread. Also let us know if you spot any quirks.

Dash cam fitting guide

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
I realise this isn't the most difficult thing in the world to do. But with fitting charges from £30-£120 I decided to save some cash and give this a go myself. I chose the Nextbase 512GW for several reasons:
  • I wanted the option to record speed
  • It had to be removable so it didn't get stolen on the first night
  • It was on sale!
With that said, I also purchased the hard wiring kit. This effectively gives you a piggy back fuse connector for the wiring meaning any idiot can connect it up. And I did! I should really have taken a picture of the wiring kit! Doh! But, you get adapters for the both sizes of fuse in the fuse box so you can effectively piggy back it anywhere it'll fit.

So to work, first I needed a suitable location for the inverter near the fuse box.

Where the relays are below the steering wheel was perfect. There's a nice flat surface to fix the inverter, as you can see I didn't even need to undo the power cables to reach the fuse box. And the circled cable is the usb cable from the inverter running off behind the fuse panel up into the A-pillar.



Next we need to pick a fuse to piggy back off. Using the cigarette lighter fuse seemed to make most sense as 1:- it would normally run off the lighter anyway and 2:- it powers on and off with the ignition. You can test this with a multimeter. Or.. if you don't have one, just plug the camera in and turn the key on and off. Be aware that the camera won't work at all though until you've connected up the earth wire.



Next we need to connect up the earth wire. Hmm, I couldn't really find a screw I was 100% happy with. But since the fuse compartment is metal, I chose the one for it's support bracket and it seems to work fine.



My biggest fear was getting up the A-pillar. Guides I've read said the vertical bar is glued to the diagonal and can easily break. The service guide says beware of scratching your dash board. On this basis, I decided to do it in place. The vertical bar of the A-pillar is actually hollow and comes out right behind the fuse box. So I got to work with the trim tool just lifting the edge.



With the cable inside the vertical part of the A-pillar you can see it drops down behind the fuse box coming out next to the relays (as shown in the first picture).



Next, the diagonal part of the A-pillar. Again, this can be lifted up and copious amounts of cable tucked into it. Luckily (or not) there is no logo to indicate side airbags. However, if you do have side air bags, they are usually located in the roof lining, not in the A-pillars (although the logo is there!). Thinking logically, in the event of an accident, who wants the entire A-pillar blasted into their face?



From there we are on to the roof lining which is the easy part. Shove your fingers in and have a feel around and it'll be obvious what to do.



Then it was just a case of sticking the removable mount to the windscreen and connecting the cable up and making it look as tidy as possible. The mirror enclosure feels like you could get a cable in, but I couldn't get the trim tool in, so just tried to follow the shape with the cable.



Then just connect the camera up and hope that 1:- I never need it and 2:- I don't forget to take it with me when I get out the car.



A final thing worth mentioning thanks to @Maypack. For reasons unknown, Nextbase put a big GPS logo on the mount which is highly visible through the windscreen that you have some nifty gadget inside. So I just took a black marker pen and coloured it in.

 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: DaRa

Jimbobcook

Blue... Oh go on then
Staff member
Moderator
Nov 24, 2012
5,460
1,988
Rutland
Great little guide there even I might be able to do this lol

I have made it sticky as it's a guide that will see the test of time.

That GPS thing is shocking, what were they thinking...
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
Great little guide there even I might be able to do this lol

I have made it sticky as it's a guide that will see the test of time.

That GPS thing is shocking, what were they thinking...
It's actually pretty easy. But the number of people I see paying to get this done. Hopefully if I can guide the more minor stuff, it'll save people a little bit of cash and get people into doing stuff on their own cars.

Cheers for the sticky, somehow stickying my own threads doesn't seem appropriate lol.

Well they also give you a massive "Dashcam on board" sticker. Its about 20cmx20cm. Who would seriously stick that in their window?
 

Jimbobcook

Blue... Oh go on then
Staff member
Moderator
Nov 24, 2012
5,460
1,988
Rutland
It's actually pretty easy. But the number of people I see paying to get this done. Hopefully if I can guide the more minor stuff, it'll save people a little bit of cash and get people into doing stuff on their own cars.

Cheers for the sticky, somehow stickying my own threads doesn't seem appropriate lol.

Well they also give you a massive "Dashcam on board" sticker. Its about 20cmx20cm. Who would seriously stick that in their window?
The minor stuff is the sort of stuff I like to do lol hence why I did one for footwell LED lighting in my Pre FL, turned out pretty bright and some may call it a brothel on wheels haha

I've seen a few of them stickers on cars driven by people that are probably too old to drive....
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
turned out pretty bright and some may call it a brothel on wheels haha
:lol: Yeah, my intial blue LED order turned up as red. It may have looked like I was offering such services.

Lol I have seen a good few with them stickers in there back window even one on my street
:D It makes no sense to me. Like having a "expensive satnav in glovebox" sticker in the window, you just wouldn't do it.
 

Jimbobcook

Blue... Oh go on then
Staff member
Moderator
Nov 24, 2012
5,460
1,988
Rutland
How did choose the location to stick the mount to the window lol I'm Ocd and cannot 1 trust someone to tell me the correct location or 2 cannot do what they're told lol

It needs to be as invisible as possible from standard driving but be centre enough not to annoy me...
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
How did choose the location to stick the mount to the window lol I'm Ocd and cannot 1 trust someone to tell me the correct location or 2 cannot do what they're told lol

It needs to be as invisible as possible from standard driving but be centre enough not to annoy me...
Hmmm, prepare for disappointment if you think mine was scientific. LOL. I put it as close to the mirror as I could get, but leaving enough space for it to be adjusted and removed (it pulls out backwards). The only thing I will say that I just read in another thread that is true, you know you get that diamond top center where the wipers don't meet? Well, the dashcam still works, but filming through that will drive you nuts. I'll try and upload some video later. I have a load to sift through on mine.

You already bought it? Cause I went for the 512GW and since it's removeable, it's not so important if it can be see from the outside.
 

Jimbobcook

Blue... Oh go on then
Staff member
Moderator
Nov 24, 2012
5,460
1,988
Rutland
Hmmm, prepare for disappointment if you think mine was scientific. LOL. I put it as close to the mirror as I could get, but leaving enough space for it to be adjusted and removed (it pulls out backwards). The only thing I will say that I just read in another thread that is true, you know you get that diamond top center where the wipers don't meet? Well, the dashcam still works, but filming through that will drive you nuts. I'll try and upload some video later. I have a load to sift through on mine.

You already bought it? Cause I went for the 512GW and since it's removeable, it's not so important if it can be see from the outside.
Yep installed and ready to go.

The diamond bit that's dirty won't bother me as I managed to hide the camera completely from my normal driving position so I'm happy lol neat means I'll be washing my car more. . Oh well
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
Bit late (as usual for me)... but here's what I meant. No big deal though as you can still make out reg plates, etc.
 

bgb

Active Member
Jan 22, 2019
576
293
Sorry to dig up a thread but as the guide was so handy and obviously you guys have done it, thought logical!

Cars inbound so haven’t had a change to dig around obvs, but in readiness have few Q’s;

- does anyone know of a live fuse number to piggy back on? I’ve seen a good guide on a VW forum which shows one but asking if anyone has done it recently in a Leon Cupra (19) I will be running it in parking mode which means permanent live.

- what size are the fuses? I’ve brought a Thinkware F770 (front and back) and the supplied hard wire is one which you wrap wires around the fuse taps and plug back in, which in my eyes is not safe as you bypass the protective fuse etc. So going to buy a piggy back pack

Think that’s all, cheers in advance!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Marky N

GaryPL

Active Member
Apr 27, 2019
48
14
Hello.

First post here from the front seat of my new (to me) Leon. Undoubtedly not the last.

Thank you for this helpful guide. Found it really useful in wiring in my dash cam.

I've got a minor issue though. I don't seem to be able to find a fuse that isn't permanently live. I've tried the power socket, the heated seats and practically every fuse 20A and below. So my dash cam won't switch off, even after half an hour. Am I missing a trick here?!

It's a 2018 (18 plate) model.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide
 

GaryPL

Active Member
Apr 27, 2019
48
14
Welcome, bit of a weird one. Although, you do have a MK3 so might be worth having a flick through this first. It's a lengthy thread so there may be other solutions, but in the first couple of posts it shows the lighter fuse he used:
https://forums.seatcupra.net/index.php?threads/diy-hardwire-dashcam-installation.415052/
Hello,

Thanks for the reply for digging out that thread. There might be something to go on. I need to move the fuse slightly, so it sits halfway between rows.

https://forums.seatcupra.net/index....ire-dashcam-installation.415052/#post-4535935

It's odd though as the camera, when plugged into the lighter, powered down when I switched off the car. So the socket wasn't live and I haven't moved the fuse from the slot where I pulled it out of. I'll give the 'half and half' thing a go tomorrow!

For tonight, I have just pulled the cable out of the camera.
 

GaryPL

Active Member
Apr 27, 2019
48
14
Pleased to report that moving the fuse down worked a treat. I can now forget about my trusty old camera! The DrivePro 200 really is a gem of a device.
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
Pleased to report that moving the fuse down worked a treat. I can now forget about my trusty old camera! The DrivePro 200 really is a gem of a device.
Glad its worked for you. Thanks for reporting back and letting us know. :)
 

Marky N

Active Member
Jul 15, 2014
67
3
London
I have a rear view dash cam. Not installed yet but I like it. I have a couple's of issues. One, the straps are not big enough to fix on to the rear view mirror and if the fuse you use allows power permanently, and I mean when the car is off, would it kill the battery? I ask this as the device is designed to activate a recording when the vehicle is bumped?

Sent from my MI 8 Lite using Tapatalk
 

Legojon

I only wanted a remap
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 7, 2015
5,015
2,528
I would imagine / hope that when it's just "sensing" for bumps it operates in a low power mode. Also, ive seen some cameras actually detect the battery voltage and when it drops too low (eg not driving it for a fortnight) the camera powers down completely to avoid running it flat. But it's designed to operate while the car is off. So I'd say they'd already factored that in.
 
DPM Performance