DSG Pain

ElBrillante

Nov 8, 2018
Estepona, Spain
www.youtube.com
This is my first car with DSG so I'm a bit of a noob but last week it was driving me insane. I got a puncture and had to wait a week for them to get two new tyres so was depressingly limping around at 80kph on the space saver until I got the call that they could fix it.

We have lots of dual-carriageways (80kph, where everyone does 120) so it was relatively easy to be in Comfort mode, stick cruise on at about 75-80 and then not worry about it. However, the car just constantly changes down the box for absolutely no reason.. nice straight, level bit of road, 80kph in D, nice low revs and then suddenly *BANG*, down to 2nd and 6000rpm - WHY?! I thought, OK I'll try it in manual mode, using the paddles. Accelerate slowly up to 80, stick it in 6th or 7th and leave it there.. 10s later and it's put itself back in AUTO and dropping back into 2nd gear and revving the nuts off itself again. Again and again it did this at seeming random times!

Is this normal DSG behaviour, was it down to the space saver or does the car know I drive like a maniac normally and so figured I always want to be at 6500rpm?

(oh and for the record, I was expecting wonderful fuel economy thanks to this setback - it was worse than normal! :ROFLMAO: )

Eryas

Feb 21, 2022
Belgium
To be honest, it's my first Automatic & my first DSG, and I'm really happy. Can't revert back to manual now.

The thing you describ is not normal. I've never had the same thing happen. Gearbox cannot handle space saver ? How it can be possible ? This happened with normal tyres before ?

The thing you can try is to set the DSG in sport mode then use manual paddles. In sport mode the gearbox SHOULD NOT revert back to automatic when paddles are not used. I've read that the only thing that can force back manual paddles to automatic (in sport mode) is inadequate engine speed

Last edited:

Hizzards

Aug 19, 2021